Aunt Betty's French Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Good starter! Here are my changes (for 12 servings--approx 1 cup dressing): 1/3 cup ketchup 1 Tbsp sugar slice of onion little less than 1/4 cup red wine vinigar 1/4 cup oil 1/2 tsp paprika fresh ground pepper Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Tastes sort of like Kraft Catalina. Scaling down to 4 servings was good for a family salad. Served over lettuce with bacon bits. I used 1/2 t. for what would have been 1/8 of a small onion and mixed by hand so it was easy to make with easy clean-up. The amazing thing was that this dressing caused my 2-yr-old to eat salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
this was so good! I changed it just a little bit though, I added some mayo. I ate it with a grilled chicken salad and it tasted so good with the grilled flavor of the chicken! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Part of me feels that I must have done something wrong (what with all the good reviews), but this was pretty straightforward ... I found it terribly vinegary and overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roscoe, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
Great! Just like Betty's Dressing that is sold in Ohio and Michigan. Can't buy it in Florida so I was happy to find it. It's very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACQUELYN21

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
At first this dressing was a little sweet for me, so I added a bit short of 1/4 cup more vinegar, and 1 tsp fresh ground black pepper. I think this would make an excellent barbeque sauce/marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
I used to have a similar recipe and lost it, but this a GREAT new one. I rated it highest possible and pass it out to all my friends with Aunt Betty's name on it. Sure makes a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
followed the recipe to a tee and found it to be not too vinegary but too sweet and had to add more vinegar. i will continue to make this with some revisions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
My new favorite! If you like French dressing, you'll love this. And it takes stuff we usually have around the house so I can whip up more anytime. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Natural

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
Very Good! I used 1/4 cup white wine vinegar and 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar and splenda instead of sugar. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Homemade Jams & Jellies the Easy Way

See how to make fresh jams and jellies from scratch—in just 30 minutes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States