Aunt Betty's French Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I really didn't like this at all. It left a strange aftertaste in my mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This was great - because I love sweet red french dressing and because it was so quick and easy to put together. The red wine vinegar gave it nice deep red color, although I really enjoy it made with cider vinegar, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I love this recipe - almost. I do not like Worchestershire sauce so I add a little salt instead, and I use less sugar - about 1/2 cup - and add a little more ketchup. And I add a few tablespoons of vegetable or canola oil to make it smoother and less airy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Very good, make it early in the day or day before so the flavors marry up. Now that's French Dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This is a great recipe for french dressing and really hits the spot if, like me, you live in an area which doesn't sell it! My 5* rating is based on following the recipe exactly as it is written. It is easily adaptable to suit personal tastes and the preparation time is so minimal, it's easy to make this dressing at the last minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Yum Yum, this was really good but I have to give it 4 stars because the recipes calls for too much sugar. Remember ketchup already has a lot of sugar so I would cut it back to 1/2 cup. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela in Germany

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Georgetown, Illinois, USA
Living In: Borken, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
My son really loved this. It was a tad sweet for me and also I could really taste the onion and vinegar. I used cider vinegar as I did not have white wine vinegar and also used olive oil instaed of veg. To be honest I did not give it a chance to chill. I whipped it up while supper was cooking. I'll try it again tomorrow and see, but I would prob. reduce the vinegar,onion and sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NOLLEEZ
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I had run out of French dressing one night and searched for an acceptable substitute. I was leery of this recipe because of the ketchup base (the dressing should be orange, not red) but it turned out virtually identical in colour and taste to the bottled brand I buy. I used white vinegar as that's what I had on hand. I will use this from now on, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOLLEEZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
Not sure what to make of this one... it was okay/pretty good, but something was off. I think the onion and vinegar was a little much, and I would have liked it to be a bit creamier. Seems great for experimenting though. After I tried it 'as is' I added 1/2 tsp of black pepper, dry mustard, and garlic powder. That helped a little, but I would probably try another recipe on this site if I were too make homemade French dressing again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Tasted like onion juice. Nobody touched it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Homemade Jams & Jellies the Easy Way

See how to make fresh jams and jellies from scratch—in just 30 minutes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States