Aunt Bert's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
yay finally a cake for pple who hate to bake. So easy to make and yummiyum. the batter is great. tastes gooooooood. Everyone loved it it just disapeared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
This cake is superb, thank you Aunt Bert & Holli (and tari Weber for sharing), surely you must live in cake heaven now. I've made it at least 5 times now. It IS slightly heavy, & very moist, the antithesis of grocery store cakes these days. Yippee! With buttercream frosting it makes a splendid birthday cake. My only minus is the amount of sugar, too much. Best advice - grease the cake pans well. More curious each time I make it, who was Holli, and who was Aunt Bert? Every time I make this cake I find myself thinking fondly of these two women I will never know, wishing to thank them. If Tari wishes to share any info about these people I would be delighted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
I have tried 23 other recipes.. I was looking for an old fashioned cake.. this is the BEST cake ever. I served it to three different gentlemen friends and they all raved about it. They all said it was just like the one their grandma or mom made when they were little. This cake is dense and has an excellent taste and texture.. I will NOT look for another recipe.. This is the best.. thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
I do lots of baking , was searching for different basic cake recipe . I tried this recipe , followed the directions to letter . This is a wonderful cake recipe . I have baked this , and frosted with homemade creamcheese frosting . And also used this recipe to bake a pineapple upside down cake in bunt pan .Aunt Bert would be proud !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2001
My cub scout son (age 8) needs to bring a cake for a special dinner tomorrow night. He made this cake with a little help from me. We both thought it was easy and it tastes GREAT! We'll do this again! The person who said it tasted terrible must have made a mistake in assembling the ingredients or something. I also found the cake light, not heavy. I guess it depends how much you beat it. I used an electric mixer. I'd recommend this cake to you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
A very moist cake. The moistness does make it a little crumbly and hard to get out of the pan, so be sure to grease the bottom of the pan well. But it's worth it for this good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
My all time #1 favorite cake! When it's time for my birthday my knows I'm expecting this cake & asks me for the recipe! As far as the eggs go we just use two jumbo eggs laid fresh by our chickens which of course just makes it all that much better! :-D We also sub in Splenda to alleviate the guilt! YUM! YUM! YUM! YUM! YUM! YUM! YUM! YUM! YUM! YUM! YUM! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIGSCOTTK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingalls, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2002
I used this recipe to make my daughter a Barbie Doll Cake for her 3rd birthday. Everyone was very impressed by the way the cake looked and once they tasted it they couldn't stop. Thanks Aunt Bert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
This is a super delicious cake. Very, very moist. I have served it a couple of times to several different people, all with rave reviews! I will definitely make this cake again and throw out all my other white cake recipes. I highly recommend! Thanks Aunt Bert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
What an incredible cake! I've made this cake recipe for three different gatherings ... it disappears fast and everyone wants the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States