Aunt Bert's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2000
I think those are supposed to be egg WHITES because the cake turned out really heavy and spongy. I didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2000
This was an awful cake! It was the worst cake I have ever tasted! After making this cake I distrust allrecipe.com, and vow not to use their recipes. I think the yolks were supposed to be whites. It had no flavor at all, fell in the oven, was spongy, stuck like glue to my cake pan, making it crumble out of the pan, ruining my dessert completly. I am very angry at Aunt Bert right now and give you good warning, this cake is !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2000
I was suprised to read the other comments..I returned to the site today to re-get the recipe, as we made it for my daughter's birthday and it went over like wildfire...everyone loved it! It was a very rich heavy cake, but reminded me of several depression era recipes that my grandmother would make. Oh well beauty is in the eye of the beholder (or taster). I'm off to make a second one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2000
We LOVED this cake, we just made it for our daughter's first birthday and everyone enjoyed it from kids to grannies. We have a great photo of our daughter with her face in it, she really enjoyed it! I wold make it again (if I wasn't so spoiled by buying cakes at the store) Kayah's Dad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
I'm not sure what some people were complaining about. This is a yummy cake. Yes, it's heavy like a pound cake. I add about 3/4 cup more buttermilk and it was very moist. Everyone at the party like it and believe me, the put it like it is. I'd know if anyone didn't like it and what they didn't like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2001
My cub scout son (age 8) needs to bring a cake for a special dinner tomorrow night. He made this cake with a little help from me. We both thought it was easy and it tastes GREAT! We'll do this again! The person who said it tasted terrible must have made a mistake in assembling the ingredients or something. I also found the cake light, not heavy. I guess it depends how much you beat it. I used an electric mixer. I'd recommend this cake to you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2001
This cake was easy to make and was very rich and moist. My company loved it. I even made my own buttermilk from a recipe on the net. I didn't put any frosting on it. I just put some cool whip and strawberries out and let everyone help themselves to put any on top. Although, the cake seemed more "yellow" than "white" but nonetheless, it was still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
I made this for my daughter's end of season volleybally party. Everyone loved it. I lowered the temperature 25 degrees because I made it in glass, but it wasn't quite done in center and had to cook another 5 minutes. Next time I won't adjust temp. It's a nice, moist cake, with a great taste. I topped it with a cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
A very moist cake. The moistness does make it a little crumbly and hard to get out of the pan, so be sure to grease the bottom of the pan well. But it's worth it for this good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
This cake is superb, thank you Aunt Bert & Holli (and tari Weber for sharing), surely you must live in cake heaven now. I've made it at least 5 times now. It IS slightly heavy, & very moist, the antithesis of grocery store cakes these days. Yippee! With buttercream frosting it makes a splendid birthday cake. My only minus is the amount of sugar, too much. Best advice - grease the cake pans well. More curious each time I make it, who was Holli, and who was Aunt Bert? Every time I make this cake I find myself thinking fondly of these two women I will never know, wishing to thank them. If Tari wishes to share any info about these people I would be delighted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States