Aunt Bert's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Considering the fact that I am not a fan of white/yellow cakes, I am very pleased with the texture and moistness of this cake. Like others, I did not add the baking soda to the buttermilk. Instead, added it in with the other dry ingredients. I chose to use up some butter flavored Crisco (I had leftover from all my Christmas goodies) in place of the shortening as well. Didn't have what I needed on hand to make frosting but the cake is still yummy! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This cake has WAY too much sugar... not sure how it comes out for the other reviewers, but the amount of sugar actually ruined my entire cake. Perhaps it comes out differently when you use shortening (not an ingredient I would EVER use in baking) but when you use all butter, this recipe is not my favorite by any stretch of the imagination. Thanks anyways tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummycreampuff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I was so exicted to try this cake , even though the ingredients seemed...odd a little.The reviews for this cake are so great I figured I'd try something new. I had never made a cake that felt or tasted so oily. It's over sweet and that's probably the reason it doesn't taste too bad.Very disappointing :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I feel bad giving this cake a 1 star, however, I followed the recipe exactly this afternoon. I read previous reviews so I knew what others did, but I tried to make this just like the recipe stated. I'm not sure where I went wrong. The boiling water at the end seemed strange, but I've made other cakes with a runny batter, so I though I would keep going as the recipe stated. I put the cake in the oven and checked on it half way through and was SHOCKED to see a mess in my oven. The cake had boiled over into a not so fun mess. Needless to say, I'm cake-less this afternoon. Thankfully, it wasn't for a birthday or anything important. I was just looking for something new to try. I don't think I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I love this recipe, I followed similar modifications as Trish did, 1/2 cup less sugar, I added to the dry ingredients a box of vanilla pudding mix, and lowered the egg to 2 whole eggs. I ran out of my vanilla extract, so instead I added almond extract. all I can say is....YUMMMM!!! it was a total Hit, so moist and delicious...this recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
The taste is delicious, like a nice sugar cookie. I followed the advice of others and did the egg whites at the end. I was disappointed in how HEAVY this cake was. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlebuddy16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I wasn't inpressed with this recipe. The cake didn't rise very much and was a yellowy color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This cake is good even though I misunderstood the recipe. I sifted the dry ingredients together like it said which normally includes the soda. I had read over it, but was thinking more of souring the milk. When it came time to add the soda, I had already added the soda to my dry ingredients. It's good even though I did it wrong. I made the proper notes on my printed version and when I try it again, I will repost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
LOVE THIS CAKE!! I've been looking forever for a white cake. I've found it in this recipe. The cake does turn out a little "yellow" since it has egg yolks but it is so delicious I am stopping my search for the perfect white cake. I typically don't change people's recipes so I make this cake as written. Sometimes I add another tsp. of vanilla but that's the only change I make. Thank you for sharing this great cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
So moist. The best cake I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States