Aunt Bert's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This is a nice, light and spongy cake with a very good flavor. The only thing I did differently was to use 4 whole eggs, rather than one egg and 3 egg yolks, simply because I didn't want to waste the whites. I followed the advice of another cook and frosted with the buttermilk sauce recipe on the Old-Fashioned Apple Cake recipe on this site. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
The cake was very, VERY dense and had an overwhelming flour tast, and was almost rubbery. I was looking for a new recipe for my cake business and this is not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
It is a great recipe! Works perfect! My family love it. Super moist! I just made a few changes: I substituted 1/4 cup shortening for 1/4 cup vegetable oil. I used 3 whole eggs and 2 teaspoon of vanilla extract, and only 1 1/2 cup of Sugar. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
A great cake recipe. I didn't have buttermilk, or even regular milk, so I replaced the buttermilk with 1/2 cup coconut milk combined with a tablespoon of lemon juice. I only used 3/4 a cup of water, and I used water that was just very hot out of the tap. I also added about a cup of coconut flakes and an extra quarter cup of flour, because the batter felt quite runny. I also baked it as cupcakes... it baked for about 18-20 minutes and they came out nearly perfect. An absolutely wonderful recipe that's quite versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
The stars are wrong. How could anyone give this 5 stars. first of all, there is no way to get a WHITE cake using 4 egg yolks. The photo cannot be of this cake. The recipe is written haphazardly, the ingredients are in no particular order. I had to keep checking and rechecking to be sure that I had not missed anything. This was intended for a birthday, it went in the trash. The cake is flat and grainy with an overwhelming eggy taste. I reminded me of cornbread. The top was crunchy. Even when topped with cream cheese frosting we could not eat this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
The cake tasted really good. The cake was not white, and it completly fell apart. I have never had a cake fall apart on me like this one. And it wasn't white!!!! I will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Very good and moist, would use double the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Followed the recipe, but the cake turned out dry and crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I substituted butter for the shortening. Frosted with vanilla buttercream frosting~ moist & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjkcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Just what I was looking for. A nice old-fashioned cake. Great with a cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Alexandria, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States