Aunt Bert's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I don't know where I went wrong in making this but it tasted too eggy. And I cut back on the eggs! I don't know what recipe the picture used but it wasn't this one. I was disappointed to say the least. Thanks anyway though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Great cake, it was moist and dense enough to be iced without crumbs. I used only one egg and used egg replacer in place of the other eggs (my daughter has a minor egg allergy). I have baked a lot of cakes and this will be my new favourite. Try with layers of lemon curd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
double the recipe. the batter was so thin on the pan i was using, and the cake was a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieGirl5

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Love, Love, Love this recipe. Moist, delicious white cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I love white cake, it is my Favorite and this just didn't even come close to being what I was hoping it would be! The 3 egg yolks make it more yellow then white and it just didn't thrill me with flavor. Sorry aunt bert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I followed some of the other suggestions, and used 2 whole eggs and 2 egg yolks, and instead of using butter milk used sour milk made by 1/2 cup of milk with 1 tbsp of vinegar. Cakes turned out v ery good. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jinglebottom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Absolutley delicous! I was so proud of myself and so was my family. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect. It was light,moist and tasted like a old fashioned vanilla cake. I paired it with hershey's classic chocolate frosting. The batter looks watery but it works, I wouldn't use a springform pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This cake is excellent in terms of being moist and flavor full but it is an extremely dense cake with more of a sponge texture. I' not a fan of the density of the cake but I love the favor. I've made this cake as a cupcakes which it is far better as cupcakes then a cake! Today I made this cake and I completely FORGOT to add the vanilla but the cake came out delish anyways even without the vanilla!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I thought this recipe is great. I just made it and it awesome. It does look a little more yellow than white but the taste is great. I only made to changes, I used sour milk instead of buttermilk because I didn't have any and I used 2 teaspoons vanilla because I love vanilla. I didn't have any problems and I am a beginner at this baking stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltnashatka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I'd really like to know why this cake seems to be either a complete hit, or a complete miss -- mine was a miss. I only substituted equivalent egg whites for the egg yolks, because I wanted a white cake. It was flat and way too sweet. Had to throw it out and make another (different recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States