Aunt Bert's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I am only giving this 4 stars, not because it wasn't good, but because it isn't a "white" cake. The flavor was good but the texture, density and color was not at all what I expected or was looking for. The fact that this cake had so many egg yolks should have tipped me off but I went ahead and made it anyway. It was a very good cake, just, in my opinion, is a "yellow" cake, not white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Probably one of the best white cakes I've ever tasted anywhere, let alone made myself. None of the almost anticipated and dreaded Dry Cake Syndrome! They're also light and fluffy (I made cupcakes) with a softer, more open crumb - something I already knew when I took them out of the cupcake tin and found them "squeezably soft." Delicately vanilla flavored, so it's suitable for any flavor frosting. Just excellent. I made these as written except I simply added the baking soda to the dry ingredients rather than to the buttermilk. I made half a recipe, which made 12 cupcakes, and frosted them with "Waldorf Astoria Cake Frosting," also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Excellent taste as well as very moist BUT suggest only using the 13x9" pan that as stated in the recipe. I used two 9" pans to make a layer cake and the cake fell apart when taking it from the pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
My search for a white cake recipe stops here. Thanks:) For me it turned out light, fluffy and moist. There may be something to placing the baking soda in the buttermilk!! I used sour cream cause that's what I had, but it bubbled right up!! Also used melted butter and a one bowl method for mixing (i'm lazy). So dry ingredients in, all liquid less butter and boiling water in and once just incorporated, added the melted butter so as not to cook the egg, then boiling water! Fabulous recipe :) Thanks Aunt Bert and Tari!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I followed the recipe to a T, except I used 2 whole eggs. It tasted great, topped with cream cheese frosting and walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This cake was ok, was a bit eggy and dense for my taste but my family liked it. I was going for a lighter, fluffier cake so will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
People are loving or hating this--I'm closer to love. Delicate flavor, nice texture, classic vanilla cake. I followed recommendations and used 2 whole eggs and 2 yolks, and doubled the vanilla. Made it into cupcakes and they worked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I don't know where I went wrong in making this but it tasted too eggy. And I cut back on the eggs! I don't know what recipe the picture used but it wasn't this one. I was disappointed to say the least. Thanks anyway though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Great cake, it was moist and dense enough to be iced without crumbs. I used only one egg and used egg replacer in place of the other eggs (my daughter has a minor egg allergy). I have baked a lot of cakes and this will be my new favourite. Try with layers of lemon curd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
double the recipe. the batter was so thin on the pan i was using, and the cake was a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieGirl5

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States