Aunt Bert's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by paul & shari
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
We used this recipe for a surprise from a husband to his wife on their 3rd anniversary - which they spent at The Selkirk Motel in Colville, WA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paul & shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
followed one reviewers suggestions(3 whole eggs/1 egg white) was good-cake was thick and heavy. next time going to follow the recipe. thanks though. very good:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by piecookiemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This was a very mild cake which was exactly what I was looking for. My son (9) made most of it, the recipe was very easy to make. It smelled and tasted great. Will definitely keep this in my recipe box. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Wilfong Plunkett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Considering the fact that I am not a fan of white/yellow cakes, I am very pleased with the texture and moistness of this cake. Like others, I did not add the baking soda to the buttermilk. Instead, added it in with the other dry ingredients. I chose to use up some butter flavored Crisco (I had leftover from all my Christmas goodies) in place of the shortening as well. Didn't have what I needed on hand to make frosting but the cake is still yummy! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This cake has WAY too much sugar... not sure how it comes out for the other reviewers, but the amount of sugar actually ruined my entire cake. Perhaps it comes out differently when you use shortening (not an ingredient I would EVER use in baking) but when you use all butter, this recipe is not my favorite by any stretch of the imagination. Thanks anyways tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummycreampuff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I was so exicted to try this cake , even though the ingredients seemed...odd a little.The reviews for this cake are so great I figured I'd try something new. I had never made a cake that felt or tasted so oily. It's over sweet and that's probably the reason it doesn't taste too bad.Very disappointing :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I feel bad giving this cake a 1 star, however, I followed the recipe exactly this afternoon. I read previous reviews so I knew what others did, but I tried to make this just like the recipe stated. I'm not sure where I went wrong. The boiling water at the end seemed strange, but I've made other cakes with a runny batter, so I though I would keep going as the recipe stated. I put the cake in the oven and checked on it half way through and was SHOCKED to see a mess in my oven. The cake had boiled over into a not so fun mess. Needless to say, I'm cake-less this afternoon. Thankfully, it wasn't for a birthday or anything important. I was just looking for something new to try. I don't think I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I love this recipe, I followed similar modifications as Trish did, 1/2 cup less sugar, I added to the dry ingredients a box of vanilla pudding mix, and lowered the egg to 2 whole eggs. I ran out of my vanilla extract, so instead I added almond extract. all I can say is....YUMMMM!!! it was a total Hit, so moist and delicious...this recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
The taste is delicious, like a nice sugar cookie. I followed the advice of others and did the egg whites at the end. I was disappointed in how HEAVY this cake was. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlebuddy16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I wasn't inpressed with this recipe. The cake didn't rise very much and was a yellowy color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States