Aunt Bert's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I substituted butter for the shortening. Frosted with vanilla buttercream frosting~ moist & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjkcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Just what I was looking for. A nice old-fashioned cake. Great with a cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Alexandria, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This particular cake was great! People in my household loved it. The only thing that was odd was adding the water. When it baked, it worried me because it smelled like Dutch Babies(Egg Bread). i had to let it set for a while because it had a strange look to it on the top and it took a bit longer to cook. I will use again but probably try and change a few things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mixoflife137

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I just finished making this cake. I followed the directions EXACTLY as written. It did not rise at all. I opened up brand new soda and baking powder. I don't know what went wrong. My cake fell completely apart, so I was eating the pieces to see what it tasted like, and the first thing was cornbread. It wasn't horrible, but I feel it lacked flavor. I took a piece over to my husband, and asked him what he thought it tasted like, and he said cornbread also. So tomorrow I have to find another recipe. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
With 3 egg yokes and 1 egg, this does not come out white, weird texture and taste is so so. Will not make it agaain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I would love to have given this recipe 5 stars however, the way the list of ingridents is done it can be confussing. You have to go step by step and then find the ingrendents you need as they are not listed in use. Saying that I found the cake to be moist and super flavour. I had done a minor change drop the vanilla by 1/2 and sugar a small amount and then added about 1 tbs spoon of maple sryup. This gave the cake a mild maple flavour which is what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
My new favorite cake recipe! I try to avoid making cakes from scratch, because honestly, box cakes always seem to have a better texture. This was a definite exception. Delicious, moist, FLUFFY cake. I used coconut milk and vinegar instead of buttermilk, and stirred the baking soda in with the dry ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paul & Shari
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
We used this recipe for a surprise from a husband to his wife on their 3rd anniversary - which they spent at The Selkirk Motel in Colville, WA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul & Shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
followed one reviewers suggestions(3 whole eggs/1 egg white) was good-cake was thick and heavy. next time going to follow the recipe. thanks though. very good:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by piecookiemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This was a very mild cake which was exactly what I was looking for. My son (9) made most of it, the recipe was very easy to make. It smelled and tasted great. Will definitely keep this in my recipe box. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States