Aunt Bert's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
I'll have to agree with one of the other reviews that this cake resembled sweetened cornbread. Although, people in my family seem to like that taste, as it disappeared in about two days. I'll probably make it once in awhile for school and work lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Needed a quick recipe for white cake. Found this one and tried it, as promised, quick and very good too. I used some special recipe make of brandy to wet the cake and made it very moist. It tasted delicious. Thanks for the recipe. :) Jay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
Not very good. Too dry and not very tasty. Holds its shape very well though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
This was a very good cake, although just a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
yay finally a cake for pple who hate to bake. So easy to make and yummiyum. the batter is great. tastes gooooooood. Everyone loved it it just disapeared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
What an incredible cake! I've made this cake recipe for three different gatherings ... it disappears fast and everyone wants the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
This is a super delicious cake. Very, very moist. I have served it a couple of times to several different people, all with rave reviews! I will definitely make this cake again and throw out all my other white cake recipes. I highly recommend! Thanks Aunt Bert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2002
I made this recipe yesterday and i love the texture,very moist and the sour cream frosting was great...Only one problem,the cake turned the color of gingerbread and i actually can't figure out what it taste like.Strangely enough,i actually liked it,will i make it again?Probably not,but i'll make that cream cheese frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2002
I used this recipe to make my daughter a Barbie Doll Cake for her 3rd birthday. Everyone was very impressed by the way the cake looked and once they tasted it they couldn't stop. Thanks Aunt Bert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
What a disappointment! I thought, surely with all those great comments this had to be a wonderful cake. The batter tasted great, but this cake was terrible. I had to toss the whole thing in the trash because noone at my house would eat it. What a waste of food, and a big let down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States