Aunt Bert's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This batter has a very unusual consistency but bakes up nicely and the flavor is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
After reading all the reviews, made the cake exactly as wrote. I greased the pan well and did however check at the 25 minute mark and found the cake to be ready. The cake itself came out white and had a moist pound cake texture, delicious in taste and not a bit grainy at all. I am planning on making it again for my daughter's birthday cake and would highly recommend this recipe for those looking for an authentic old fashioned cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I just finished making this cake and I like others made a few changes, I used 2 large eggs instead of dividing them. I have been having problems finding a lemon poppyseed cake that I liked so I added a half cup of boiling water to a 1/2 cup of fresh squeezed lemon juice. I added the poppyseeds to the dry ingredients. It turned out to be just what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Trowbridge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This is a nice, moist cake, and provides a great base from which to create all kinds of great flavor combinations, or just to enjoy as a simple white cake. I halved the recipe, which yielded 11 cupcakes. I used all ingredients as stated, except for using unsalted butter in place of shortening. My only other deviation was to add the baking soda in with the dry ingredients, as I do with all my other cake recipes, rather than mix it with the buttermilk. There was no cornbread taste or consistency, as a few others have mentioned. That could be the result of over mixing. Once you begin to add the dry ingredients, mix only enough to incorporate. Mixing too much will give you a tough cake. The cupcakes were tender and moist, though a little on the sweet side. Next time I will back off the sugar a bit as I plan to add a strawberry filling and top with strawberry cream cheese icing - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Made this yummy cake for our DD 1st birthday. It is a tradition now & will do again this year - as well as for our newest LO. Thank you for being a part of our family with your family's recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I have this cake in the oven now, at the request of my mother. I've made it countless times - all sizes, from cupcakes to my mother's full sized wedding cake. I've always made it just as the recipe states, and NEVER had a problem. It is dense, and very moist. My husband, who is chocolate cake purist, will eat, and more importantly enjoy eating, this cake. For every event I've used this cake recipe (I'm not a baker by profession, just a baker/cake decorator by hobby), people have loved it and remarked it is one of or the best white cake they've tasted. The color is not "white" for those who are looking for a pure white color for decorating purposes (because of the yolks), but it hasn't been a problem for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camee'sMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I can't give this recipe any stars. It does not come out looking like the picture at all. I followed the recipe It was only about 1/8 of an inch thick. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
This is great if your just doing a plain white cake. however i've also tried to make this with chocolate chips and the chips fell to the bottom of the pan because the batter was so thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Terrible! The cake was awful. I really think the proportions were wrong somewhere. Everything seemed to be good until adding the boiling water. I'm wondering if only 1/2 cup should be added. The cake took forever to bake, was an odd consistency, and tasted terrible. Also, it wasn't anything close to a white cake! By the time the cake finished baking, it was dark brown. I followed the recipe to the letter and I'm a pretty good scratch baker. This recipe isn't one I'll be keeping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I knew I was in trouble when I added the cup of boiling water and the batter became extremely thin. I baked this as cupcakes and they barely rose. The cake was very spongy. The only reason I'm giving it 2 stars is because the flavor was good. I wouldn't make this again. There are too many other good recipes out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States