Aunt Anne's Sesame Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
The best !!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Liverpool, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I had anise seed so I substituted 2 Tbl. of that and put in 1 tsp. vanilla extract. Very nice subtle flavor and not too sweet. The next time I will toast the sesame seeds first to bring out their flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
This recipe is AWESOME! I didn't have anise extract so I used Vanilla and it was great. I didn't did them in milk either. I rolled them into balls and then rolled them in the sesame seeds. They came out evenly coated and baked into a nice round cookie. My daughter loves them plain as well (with no sesame seeds). It's a great cookie. Next time I may try lemon extract or almond extract. I made some with roasted sesame seeds and some with unroasted sesame seeds. Both are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
After reading all the reviews, I tried this recipe with anise and another batch with vanilla. Both was terrific!!! I prefer the anise my husband preferred the vanilla. Better than any Italian bakery! Just perfectly wonderful! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
AMAZING!!!!! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. Followed others advice about sesame seeds and had plenty to spare. These cookies are also a hit with my 4 year old!!! Happy Holidays and MERRY CHRISTMAS ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
just like my grandma used to make, however, I make them with LARD to get the crisp texture I remember. I also turn these into frosted butter cookies , by using butter and vanilla extract. I think I increase the sugar in the butter version to 1 full cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
They are awesome I used anise seeds ( Like 2 tablespoons instead because where I live is a little hard to find the extract, dough consistency was perfect they continued crisp and perfect until they were all gone, Bravo for this recipe! I will make these again soon. If you have not tried it, start fixing it , you will not regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
These cookies are amazing! I have made them 3 times already and I could have easily eaten the whole batch myself if my kids hadn't tried to take handfuls at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pinkbonbon
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
These cookies are fantastic!! I made the recipe just as stated and would not change a thing. Some previous reviews state there was not enough anise but I did not find this to be the case. Just the perfect amount. Will definitely make again. Have included some photos of these great cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkbonbon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Wonderful cookie. I squirreled some away so I could have a nice cup of tea and cookies after doing chores. Thanks for such a great cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States