Aunt Anne's Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2003
LET ME FIRST SAY THAT THIS COFFEE CAKE IS DELICIOUS!!!! I HAVE NEVER TASTED A COFFEE CAKE LIKE THIS BEFORE. BEFORE TRYING THIS RECIPE I DID READ ALOT OF THE REVIEWS AND TOOK IN TO ACCOUNT SOME OF THE THINGS THAT WERE SAID, SUCH AS NOT ENOUGH STREUSEL AND THE STREUSEL MELTING INTO THE CAKE. I REMEDIED BOTH, I USED 1/2 CUP OF FLOUR, 1/2 CUP OF WHITE SUGAR AND 1/2 CUP OF BROWN SUGAR (KEPT THE BUTTER THE SAME) FOR THE STEUSEL, IT MADE MORE THAN ENOUGH, I ALSO DID'NT PUT THE STREUSEL ON UNTIL IT WAS COMPLETELY DONE. I PUT THE STEUSEL ON AND COVERED THE PAN (9X9) WITH ALUMINUM FOIL AND THAT MOISTENED THE STREUSEL I THEN PRESSED IT DOWN JUST A BIT. I ALSO ADDED A BIT OF CINNAMON TO THE FLOUR FOR THE BATTER AND IT ALL TURNED OUT GREAT!!!! THANKS MARY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LucyDelRey
Reviewed: May 20, 2005
I made the cake EXACTLY as indicated, however I increased the batter by doubling the it because I wanted a thicker cake. The results were perfect!!! For those who had problems with the streusel topping sinking into the batter and cracking during the baking process, follow the simple step. After preparing the topping, place the entire bowl (not the batter) into the freezer for several hours or overnight. Remix with a fork until they resemble small crumbs. Sprinkle on top of cake batter. Pat down gently with a large spatula (especially the corners) to ensure the topping "sticks" to the batter and also to even the cake out. I baked mine at 325 degrees instead of 350 and the cake baked and rose more evenly. Take a look at my photo. The cake was delicious and disappeared very quickly!! Thank you Mary for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyDelRey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
I used an 8 x 8" pan and put half of the streusel in the middle and half on the top. I used 1/3c white sugar and 1/3 c brown sugar to make up the 2/3c sugar for the streusel. I baked it for 40 minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by So Cal Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
The streusel topping melted during baking so, now I add it towards the last 10 mins of baking. I have made this cake several times with no additions or ingredient changes and it was never dry. Try rotating the baking pan at the halfway point of the baking time and then check five minutes before the end of the recommended baking time with a cake tester or toothpick. There should be very few crumbs adhering to the tester when the cake is ready. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
I really enjoyed the taste of this coffee cake but it should have been made in a 9 x 9 pan. There didnt seem to be enough batter for 13 x 9. Also I think a little less butter in the topping would make it crunchier. The topping melted into the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Delicious! Try it for yourself, don't trust the bad reviews. I halved the recipe and made it in a 8x8 in. pan--I still used one whole egg and added milk to make 1/2 cup. I also made a full batch of topping using brown sugar instead of white. It took a few extra minutes to cook and a few minutes for the topping to set. I did not follow the directions for mixing the cake--just did it as you would any other cake and creamed the butter with the sugar, etc. Quick, easy, tasty, and uses ingredients you always have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
Excellent and Easy! The only alterations I made were to use a 9 inch round springform pan and baked for 35 minutes, increased milk by 2 Tbsp. and used 1/3c white sugar and 1/3 c. brown sugar in topping, rather than all white sugar. This was a hit with my kids and guests. So easy and uses always-on-hand pantry items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
Quick easy and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This is a perfect morning cake! Delicious, fluffy and super simple. Made it in a 9inch round pan...planned to use the 9x13 but didn't look like it would be enough. It was perfect in the round pan! Layered the topping and added some chopped walnuts to the top. Couldn't have been better! ( take it out before the top starts to brown and it will be super moist, and addicting!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
This was a good coffee cake that hit the spot for brunch. I added a 1/4 C of chopped walnuts to the topping mixture. As one reviewer noted, there doesn't seem to be enough batter for a 9x13 pan but it can be done through a little bit of elbow grease-- the batter is sticky and hard to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 532) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States