Aunt Anne's Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This was perfect!! Like others, I added brown sugar to streusel topping. 9X13 is perfect, the batter rises quite a lot as the cake bakes so it looks like it's not enough when you first spread it in your pan. If you bake in a smaller pan you will have to increase baking time, and the edges will be dry. Yum this was fantastic! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Perfect! The whole family loved it! I made this in a bundt pan and had to bake for 40 minutes, but it turned out fantastic. I think next time I will cut the topping in half since I made it in the bundt pan and there is less surface to cover. I took the another reviewer's suggestion and made the topping first and then put in the freezer while I did the rest. Make sure the egg is at room temp to make the cake perfect. You can also add in flavored coffee creamer in place of the vanilla and a tad bit of the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jr911

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Great coffee cake! I think the best thing about this recipe is that it didn't require any box mixes, so I had everything at home to make it. I took it out after 15 minutes and it was perfect. My boys and husband loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I have been looking for this recipe for many years. I used to make this cake back in the early 80s. The recipe got lost in my many moves. I am delighted to find it again, just as easy, just as delicious! TIPS: Use COLD butter. Remember to NOT over-mix. Lumpy batter means tender cake. Also, I like to add 1/4 C chopped nuts to the streusel topping. Simple and perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I got overly excited about this cake, as many times as I saw it pop up in the reviews. Despite the title, looking at the pics, I just assumed it was a crumb cake. I so wanted a crumb cake and was really looking forward to this being done! As another reviewer said, the strussel topping does melt mostly right into the cake. It creates a thin crisp sugar cooking on top. I wanted a soft strusel. Other reviewers said their cake was hard or biscuit like. Mine was quite sweet, but was very moist. I can only assume their baking powder was not effective. The cake was pretty good, but the thin, sugary, crispy, unattractive coating just made it mediocre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This was very good, however, how it is listed ingredient wise could of been a bit easier if listed in order of tad bit dry, we used a 10x13 pan and baked at 350 for 25 min, maybe next time I'll add a lil more milk. Also since we love cinamon, we added some to the batter... we will make again!! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencer, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Great recipe, exactly the coffee cake from my childhood. The only thing I did differently was I used jumbo muffin liners as this for a bake sale. This made 28 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Wonderful! Good tips from comments: smaller pan, go with more generous proportions for the topping and freeze the topping overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Wow! Yum! I followed the directions pretty closely and my cake turned out to be perfectly delicious! I used a 10" round and it was the perfect size for me. I will say I was surprised at how much volume the cake had. It really does poof up. I did put some streusel in the middle as well. Also, after some mental debate, I put the top layer of streusel on the cake BEFORE putting it in the oven and it was perfect. My coworkers kept commenting that the cake had the perfect combination of crunchiness from the top layer, balanced with the delectable-ness of the rest of the cake. I really recommend trying the cake recipe as it is written before making too many changes. It was super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Great recipe! Followed the recipe exactly except I doubled the topping. I put half the batter in, sprinkled some topping on, poured the rest of the batter, then put the remaining topping on. Doesn't even need sour cream or yogurt in the recipe. I'm definately making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diana2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 559) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States