Aunt Anne's Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Excellent coffee cake. Having read all the reviews, I found it interesting that several people commented on how dry the batter was with I believe one person saying they had a dough ball to spread in the pan. I had the exact opposite. I carefully measured the flour, sugar, etc. and broke the egg into a measuring cup, beat the egg slightly and then added milk to the 1 cup mark. Added the vanilla and poured it into the flour mixture. The result was a very thin batter which easily poured into the pan. I baked it in a 8x8 pan for 40 min. I also had a problem with the streusel topping. I probably overmixed it as it came out like paste so I just dropped bits of it all over the top which did melt into the top of the cake. Will definately make again and see if any of my experiences with this one change. Still a great coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
AMAZING! I added about 1 tsp cinnamon to the cake batter and used brown sugar instead of white sugar for the topping. I also doubled the caked topping and added it to the cake 15 min before it was done cooking. It was PERFECT!!! Everyone at Easter brunch loved it and asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Very good and easy to make!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
So I haven't got to try this cake yet, but I do have to say that it takes longer than 25min in a 350 oven. Mine wasn't even cooked except at the very edgesat that time. I put it in for another 20 minutes and it still wasn't done. So I increased the temperature to 400 and put it in for another 20 minutes, hopefully that'll do the trick. i'm trying to feed 2 kids this for breakfast, but unfortunately because of the time stated in the recipe it's now become lunch. And my oven is running at the correct temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This was a simple recipe. I made mine into cupcakes. The only suggestion is to put the streusal mixture in the fridge or freezer. That way you can break it up and it will be crumby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: North Bergen, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Very good and very easy. I made it in an 8x11 baking dish and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This was so easy - what a great (QUICK) recipe! I made an extra "1/2" recipe (alter the servings to 22 or 23, and use two small eggs or one really large egg for the 1 1/2 egg ingredient. In a two cup liquid measure fill milk to 1 1/2 cups after adding the eggs). The cake rose beautifully - perfect amount for the 9X13 if you add the extra 1/2 recipe. And to avoid the "cutting in" of the butter, I grated it while cold into the dry mixes and used the paddle attachment on my mixer to finish incorporating. Easy easy easy. I did add some extra cinnamon to the batter (1 tsp) along with the dry ingredients. I love that this recipe is all ingredients that I typically keep in my pantry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
all i can say is YUMMMMM!!!! i made them into muffins easy to make and very moist its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly except I used my own topping. It looked like there wasn't going to be enough to cover the bottom of a 9x13 pan, so I used a 9x9. The cake rose well (almost tripled in size), but it was VERY dense. It tasted delicious, so I think next time I will try the 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 548) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States