Aunt Anne's Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This made a good coffee cake, but definitely not my favorite. I put the batter in an 8x8 pan and sprinkled some of the topping in the middle. It turned out fluffy, but a bit dry. Overall a good, but not great coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
A very yummy, simple coffee cake. I made it as directed, but used a 8x8 pan instead so that it would come out thicker. Just the right amount of topping. Baked for more like 40 minutes since it was so thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I followed some of the tips. I doubled the streusel and put some on top before I baked it, then added the rest for about 10 minutes before it was done. We like cinnamon, so I doubled the amount in the streusel and added about a teaspoon to the batter. I baked it in a 9x13 for about 28 minutes total. The streusel came out nice and crispy on top. I think it is not enough batter for a 9x13 however, so I gave it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
We really enjoyed this coffee cake, I did bake it in a smaller pan 8 by 8... Also because I used a smaller pan I had to bake it longer. I did make extra topping and used a combo of brown and white sugar... I layered the topping in.. Turned out great thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillasmiles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durand, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Excellent coffee cake. Having read all the reviews, I found it interesting that several people commented on how dry the batter was with I believe one person saying they had a dough ball to spread in the pan. I had the exact opposite. I carefully measured the flour, sugar, etc. and broke the egg into a measuring cup, beat the egg slightly and then added milk to the 1 cup mark. Added the vanilla and poured it into the flour mixture. The result was a very thin batter which easily poured into the pan. I baked it in a 8x8 pan for 40 min. I also had a problem with the streusel topping. I probably overmixed it as it came out like paste so I just dropped bits of it all over the top which did melt into the top of the cake. Will definately make again and see if any of my experiences with this one change. Still a great coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
AMAZING! I added about 1 tsp cinnamon to the cake batter and used brown sugar instead of white sugar for the topping. I also doubled the caked topping and added it to the cake 15 min before it was done cooking. It was PERFECT!!! Everyone at Easter brunch loved it and asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Very good and easy to make!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
So I haven't got to try this cake yet, but I do have to say that it takes longer than 25min in a 350 oven. Mine wasn't even cooked except at the very edgesat that time. I put it in for another 20 minutes and it still wasn't done. So I increased the temperature to 400 and put it in for another 20 minutes, hopefully that'll do the trick. i'm trying to feed 2 kids this for breakfast, but unfortunately because of the time stated in the recipe it's now become lunch. And my oven is running at the correct temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This was a simple recipe. I made mine into cupcakes. The only suggestion is to put the streusal mixture in the fridge or freezer. That way you can break it up and it will be crumby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: North Bergen, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Very good and very easy. I made it in an 8x11 baking dish and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 542) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States