Aunt Anne's Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Wow, I have never made coffee cake before and this was amazing. I didn't have any vanilla so i shredded a granny smith apple and put that in for some sweet and tart falvour. It worked great, will make this again. *update* I have made this cake several times now and although I have been adding the vanilla I still add a shredded apple. The one time I made it without the apple my hasband said he thought it was missing something. I added the apple the next time and he and the kids thought it was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
VERY good! I followed the recipe to the letter except that I baked it in an 8 x 8 pan so that it would be taller. Because of this, I had to increase the baking time a bit (about 5 mins), but it came out tall, light and fluffy, and oh so delicious! Definitely a a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This recipe is DELICIOUS! I used cake flour instead of all-purpose flower, and (because couldn't wait to taste) I used a muffin pan instead of the 9x13 pan. It made 12 good-sized muffins, and because I used the cake flour they came out extra fluffy and tender! I've been baking since I was a little girl, and this is by far the best coffee cake recipe I've come across!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Very tasty and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This was way too easy and way too delicious! ... I think I ate way too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
It wasn't bad but I thought it was missing something....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by F9foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
A bit too sugary for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Ok nothing special as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I made 2 changes and it came out perfectly! Instead of 2/3 cup of white sugar in the topping I did 1/3 cup each of white and brown sugar. Also, I baked it in a 8x8 pan for 45 minutes. This is a recipe I will definitely bake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I turned this into an almond coffee cake. It was wonderful!! I did 1/2 white flour and 1/2 almond flour. For the streusel, I added chopped almonds, a bit of nutmeg, and used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. I sprinkled the top with almonds, as well. I put half the streusel in the middle and half on top. I also baked mine in an 8x8 as I think a 9x13 won't make a thick enough cake. This is fabulous traditional coffee cake recipe and a great basic to go by when experimenting with other varieties. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PolishK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 561) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States