Aunt Anne's Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I made extra topping using equal parts white/brown sugars. I was low on milk so sub'd 1/2 &1/2, as well as adding a few dashes of cinnamon in the mix. Def used a smaller pan!! Did a powdered sugar icing to top it off. increased baking time to 30 min. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUJayhawksfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chanute, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Delicious. I followed other reviewers' ideas about doubling the streusel, and put it in a 9x9 pan. It doesn't last more than a day or two at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
This cake was more bitter than I expected. Not sure what happened to the batter, but it tasted like too much flour or baking powder was in it. I took other people's advice about the streusel and put it in after the cake finished baking. The streusel was delicious though! I would make it gain with a bit more sugar and vanilla extract though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This comes together very quickly, which was just what I needed. I had some tree trimmers show up at 7:30 am and I had it out to them by 8:20. And the taste and texture are really great. I subbed some plain yogurt for milk to increase the moistness. So I most likely had more than a cup of moist ingredients - sorry, just eye-balled it until I had a spoonable batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I changed this recipe up quite a bit since I had an apple that need to be used and I did not have any all-purpose flour. I substituted the all purpose flour for the batter with 1.5 cups oat flour, 1/4 cup whole wheat flour and 1/4 cup rolled oats. For the crumble top I used whole wheat flour. I poured half the batter into a 9x12 ceramic pan, then sprinkled 1 chopped up apple over the batter (cut into small, 1/4 inch chunks), I also sprinkled some raisins, brown sugar and a titch of cinnamon over the apples. I mixed 1/4 cub of fat free vanilla yogurt with the remaining batter and poured over the top of the apples. I topped with the streusel (which did melt) and baked at 350F for 34 minutes. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This cake is wonderful. I omitted the topping and added a pint of fresh blueberries to the mixture and sprinkled with corse sugar after baking. It needed nothing else. I baked in a 9x11 pan. Suggestions for butter. Freeze for 30 minutes then grate with a cheese grater. Give this recipe a try. Easy and YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This cake was delicious, the sweetness perfect, just like my mom's! But only right after I pulled it from the oven. The batter was so sticky I had to add allot of flour and it turned out kind of dry. When it cooled down completely it turned to stone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarot Witch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Best Coffee Cake ever. My only change was to add more flour to the topping to stretch it out because my margarine is less than stellar. Still, it was fantastic. I can't wait to make it with real butter. We may all fall into comas of joy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Powers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I enjoy making coffee cakes on Sunday mornings for my family. This morning I wanted a quick and easy one to throw together, that didn't include a cake mix (trying not to eat stuff with preservatives), and found this recipe. Though this recipe is easy to throw together, it has a rough texture. The topping is off looking (needs brown sugar), and it seems almost greasy when you first take it out of the oven. The flavor is okay, but I won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
used 9x9, added chopped apple to streusel and put in center and top was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ironwood, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 554) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States