Audry's Shrimp Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2001
I thought this was really good, however 40 minutes is too long to cook the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH BOOTHE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2001
MERWIN, NOT A BAD RECIPE AT ALL. THE 1ST TIME I MADE IT YOUR WAY AND ENJOYED IT. THE 2ND TIME I MADE IT MY WAY WITH GARLIC AND FRESH RED PEPPERS IN IT! I ENJOY A LITTLE MORE SPICE THAN YOU DO AND MY FAMILY LOVES IT. I ALSO ADD MORE SHRIMP. GEORGIEANNA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
Very good. I was surprised that I got it right. Could use some zing... maybe some hot peppers. We enjoyed it over rice. I was surprised that the Shrimp turned out so tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Very Easy. Good for a guick meal. Not very tasty. But not bad either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
I added some chopped shallots and minced garlic. Also I boiled the shrimp heads and used this as a stock to add a little more flavor. Overall this was a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
Love it! This is a wonderful recipe! My husband has been requesting this regularly since I first made it. Today will be twice in the last week that I've made it. I prefer red bell peppers to the green and celery to us was better left out. I added crushed red pepper for some spice and it is terrific! When making it with the children in mind, I leave much of the spice out. Garlic was also good added to this. Thank you so much, Merwin for Audry's recipe. (Perhaps I shouldn't thank you so much because of the time spent stirring the roux! jk)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
very good recipe. made a dark roux which did take an hour of constant stirring over low heat. was my first roux and turned out excellent! i did add garlic and red pepper flakes as another suggested. i used chicken broth in place of the water for more flavor. boiled all for 30 minutes then added the shrimp and peppers the last 10 minutes. shrimp turned out perfect and not overcooked that way. did have to thicken with cornstartch/water mix at the end. served over white rice. excellent meal which hubby loved as well. will make again. thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Evanston, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Excellent just the way it is. My family loved it!! The roux is what makes the flavors come together. I will be using this recipe during the upcoming holidays and making it for 25-30 people. I can't wait! Thanks for sharing your recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I don't know, maybe I'm just not used to LA style cooking...but I didn't think this was very good. Not a lot of shrimp and a weird bitter taste. I'll pass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Very Good Recipe...added some tomato sauce for coloring which made it even better...Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States