Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I enjoyed this recipe very much. It was different, easy to make, and had that sweet, salty taste which goes good with asian dishes. I will definitly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Windtraveler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Celaya, Guanajuato, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rocks
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Good. I got lazy so instead of buying fresh veggies I bought the frozen hash browns that come with green pepper and onion. I halved the recipe and used only one can of low fat cream of celery instead of the two cans the recipe calls for. I also subbed fat free sour cream instead of regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
The BEST cheesy potato recipe I've had in a long time! The green pepper and onion MAKE this dish. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
The potatoes were good, but I changed the recipe slightly, as did others. First, I took everyone's advise to saute the onion (in about 1 tablespoon of butter)before adding them to the soups, and they weren't crunchy as others had noted. I omitted the green pepper and added instead 1 large minced clove of garlic. I used the "grated" style of loose hashbrowns rather than the diced style, and the cream of potato soup used diced style potatoes so it looked odd in the dish. After mixing the soups and sour cream, I thought the "sauce" looked way too thick and I had to resist thinning it with milk. It turned out great: baking in the oven did the thinning of the sauce. I also mixed some of the cheese in with the sauce and then topped off the potatoes with the last bit of cheese during the final cooking. I would recommend keeping the oven temp at 300 rather than increasing it to 350 as I did. My potatoes were a bit "hard" on the bottom of the dish. I suppose a compromise of 325 might work well. As stated earlier, don't forget the salt & pepper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
Made this again this weekend. Fast and easy. Any cream soups could be used and it would still taste great. Tip: Thawing the potatoes reduces cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Very tasty, but the lengthy cooking time means that the oven is tied up for one hour and thirty minutes for a sidedish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
I'm not sure what I did wrong but I did not care for this recipe. The taste was marginal. I possibly just don't like cream of celery soup and should have used mushroom as recommended. Who Knows!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
I tried this recipe, but varied it a little added cream of mushroom soup insted of the cream of celery. Baked it covered at 350 for 1 hr.. Uncovered added more cheese and baked for another 30min. really enjoyed them so did my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
Good recipe and quick!! Added a can of cream of broccoli soup as my family loves broccoli...was different and everyone enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States