Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Based on other reviews I mixed all the ingredients except approx a cup of the cheese together and baked that way (for an hour). Then put on the rest of the cheese and baked for another half hour. I didn't have potatoe soup so I used cream of chicken per other reviews. We really liked it. Will make this a regular recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
Sorry but we didn't care for this recipe. It had an odd taste to me. Maybe it was the cream of celery soup as I have never used that before. I gave this 3 stars because my oldest son and hubby ate it but my youngest and myself didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I made this recipe the other night with a few modifications. I used cream of chicken soup because that is what I had. Instead of pouring the mixture on top I combined all the ingredients together and then added a little cheese in with the mixture. I also sauteed my onions for a few minutes before adding in. I also added black pepper, a little salt and a couple of drops of tabasco. I did attempt to speed up the cooking but as stated by another reviewer, it caused the dish to brown too much on the bottom. I will try again on 325. I also used light sour cream and a splash of fat free half and half. Yummy dish. I am making it again for a potluck on Friday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I would actually give this recipe 3 1/2 stars. I made it exactly as written. We found that the potatoes were pretty mushy. Also, I think I would sautee the onions and green peppers first, as they were still crunchy in the finished dish. These were much better the second day, the flavors seemed to meld together. I might make this again. It was easy for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
My husband loved this. It was so simple and quick! (Except the baking time.) And it's very versitle... you can add whatever soup your family likes, and garlic is always a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This was good and simple. I used frozen potatoes O'Bryan because I had run out of onions and green peppers. I also didn't have cream of potato soup so I used cream of mushroom soup and cream of celery soup, and I used fat free sour cream. So, you see, it's pretty flexible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I have made this with Cream of Mushroom(instead of cream of potato) and cream of broccoli soup (instead of cream of celery) and sometimes added ham to make this a main course and skipped the green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Staskivige

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
The texture was very nice, and like some others I did saute the onions first, and mixed all the ingredients together. However, neither I nor my family like the taste of the celery soup in it. It added a weird vegetable taste that did not belong. Next time I will definitely either use all cream of mushroom, or sub in cream of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I have made a recipe like this many times for weddings too with great success except with cream of chicken soup instead and use crushed cornflakes browned in butter to sprinkle all over the top. The cornflakes make it even more tasty as long as they are golden browned in your skillet before topping with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Tasted good, but next time I will use fresh hash browns because I am not a fan of frozen potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States