Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This dish came out perfect the first time, all the ingredients were very easy to prepare. This was the first time in a long time we did not have any left overs at all. Will add this recipe to my regular dinner menu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I tried what some reviews suggested and mixed the sauce with the potatoes. The taste was fine, but the sauce spread out on the plate. This could be due to using potatoes that weren't fully thawed.,,not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2as1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Great Recipe!! My husband said these potatoes were awesome. I did not have cream of potato soup so I used the celery soup and a can of cheddar cheese soup. Turned out perfect!! Thanks for the recipe, its a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Had with ham this past Easter - everyone loved it. My son who was home from school for the weekend has already made it for his buddies - big hit all around. I tried a second time and mixed the soups, cream cheese, etc with the potatoes before cooking. Actually liked it better with the hash browns on the bottom layer. I swapped cream of mushroom for the potato soup - liked this swap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Very creamy and cheesy. Simple enough to make. I probably added closer to 2 cups of cheddar (extra sharp), but I'm from Wisconsin so that is to be expected. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
These were ok I used simply hashbrowns cubed, I think sliced or shredded would taste better with at least a tsp of salt and pepper. I LOVE peppers but with this dish I wouldn't add any maybe a red pepper would taste better. Also next time I will add a 1/2 C fresh shredded parmesan cheese and target then layer I will mix all together and then top with more parmesan cheese at the last 15-20 min till lightly golden and crusted. - will update when I make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vennettes_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
It was good and even super simple using 0reIda Hashbrowns w/ Green Pepper & Onion. I used cream of mushroom & cream of chicken soups instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ForeverTERESA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indian Rocks Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Easy dish when you're in a hurry. Reasonably good. I left out the green pepper, used a little extra onion and, in doubling the recipe (that turned out to be unnecessary--as written the recipe served 12 people comfortably) used 2 cans cream of celery, 1 can cream of mushroom and 1 can cream of potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Always a crowd pleaser! BIG and better difference is made when adding a can of Golden Mushroom soup instead of Cream of anything else....also gives it a nice golden color ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I made this recipe for our family & friends Sunday dinner and decided to use freshly grated russet potatoes and prepped it the night before. The dish itself was extremely tasty; however, I made a rookie mistake when the first person dove into the pan, the potatoes were BLACK!! I shredded them, threw them in a pan, covered them with the cheese sauce mixture and threw press-n-seal over them and put the pan in the fridge. I left out the green pepper, used scallions and added cooked-crip-chopped bacon. Aside from the bizarre and somewhat unappealing blackness to the potatoes, I surprisingly had NO leftovers and people went back for seconds. Now, I know if I'm going to use fresh potatoes, I need to cook the dish immediately, immerse them in water or add a citric acid (lemon, lime juice) to them to keep them from oxidating. All in all, good recipe, will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States