Au Gratin Potatoes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
I made this dish for my fiance and parents and they LOVED it, there were no leftovers! It's extremely easy to make, and tastes like you fussed. I used frozen, shredded hash brown potatoes instead of doing the shredding myself. I will be making this again soon. Just be sure you put it in a deep enough pan, so it doesn't bubble over. I learned that one the hard way!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Hamilton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
This recipe is outstanding! The only thing that I did differently was that I made it into scalloped potatoes! I sliced the potatoes rather than shredding them! My husband & I (and our puppies) loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
I made this as a side with a pork roast for a dinner presented to a bereaved family. It was a big hit. I doubled the ingredients, and made one for the family, too. Seemed generally well liked. Used frozen shredded potatoes, not too time consuming that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2002
While I think this recipe sounded like a good idea, not only did it take a long time to prepare, but even with over an hour of cooking time, it still wasn't completely cooked. Some of the potatoes were still raw. Also, between the celery soup and the green onions... the flavor wasn't that great. I like celery and green onions, just not as the main flavor. My kids hated it but, had it been cooked completely through.. adults probably would have found it tolerable. So, there ya go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2002
Meh. It's alright--nothing terrible, but nothing dramatically different from another version of potatoes au gratin I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHADPETRI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
WOW, even my fussy 8 year old devoured this one. I substituted mushroom soup and oh my, yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
Used cream of mushroom soup instead since didn't have celery & it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
I made this for a church dinner and was asked by everybody for the recipe. Then I made it for a kids and grandkids gathering. They ALL loved it. I have passed this recipe to probably 15 people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
This was tasty, but much too greasy. I would reduce the amount of butter used on the top and change the corn flakes to bread crumbs. Other than that it was yummy and reheated nicely for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
This is a recipe I have been making for years and my husband and I have always enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States