Au Gratin Potatoes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Emily
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Awesome! This is my favorite potato dish. I used white onions instead of the green onions. The cornflake topping is really good, too, although I've used crushed up potato chips in the past. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
I have made recipes from this site for years and always been happy. This recipe had no flavor, and I was really surprised that it was rated at 4 1/2 stars. I read all the reviews cooked it longer that the recipe called for and was glad I did because it was cooked. However, I will never make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
This recipe is great! I served it at a get together and it was the first thing gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Patuxent River, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Good flavour but very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
This was a great recipe and easy to make. I needed to coook longer, going by instructions, the potatoes werent cooked enough. But once I cooked longer, the taste was GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Tasty recipe, husband loved it. 1/2 cup butter is WAY too much for my taste; next time I'll use a few tablespoons with bread crumbs instead. We sliced the potatoes instead of shredding them and used sliced Vidalia onions instead of green. Nice variation, but takes much longer to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
This was really good. I also used shredded potatos and Durkee onions. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I took some significant liberties with this recipe, and the result was AWESOME! I used Simply Potatoes brand refrigerated potatoes... needed more than one bag, so buy 2. I also used gruyere cheese, as I'm not a big cheddar fan. Added about 1/4 extra cup of pecorino/romano, a clove of pressed garlic, and salt and pepper and onion powder. Topped with canned fried onions and bacon bits. Cooked in a big 9 x 13 pan, because we like the well done parts best. RAVES ALL AROUND!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coraopolis, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Good but cook about 15 minutes longer than stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
I thought this was OK. My husband loved it though. I think it should have been a bit cheesier. The only change that I made was using Ritz crackers instead of cornflakes and added salt and Italian seasoning .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paynes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States