Au Gratin Potatoes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This recipe was a huge hit with my family. Impressive flavor for little effort! I did make a few changes, using what I had on hand. I used the frozen pre-shredded potatoes because it saves so much time. I used 1/2 a chopped red onion instead of the 1/2 cup of green onion. I didn't have sour cream, so I used a 5 oz can of evaporated milk instead. I will definitely make this again and the only other change I will make is less butter in the topping. 1/2 a cup was way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jclaw6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This recipe is Fantastic! I often substitute one cup of ham for one cup of potatoes. I have also doubled the "sauce" ingredients and added broccoli and cauliflower in place of the extra potatoes. Either way makes for a great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTOlough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alsip, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This recipe was so delicious and so creamy! Best potato casserole that we have ever made, hands down! We did use light cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of celery. Also cut the butter in half for on the cornflakes and would cut it down even more in the future. used frozen hashbrowns to make it easy. Yum yum!!! Leftovers were great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
PERFECT! I used frozen hash browns, cut down on the butter, cooked a bit longer and it was fantastic. I made two one with onions and one w/o. The one w.o onions needed onion powder for flavor. Had it for leftovers the next day and mixed some ham in it for great meal. I can't wait to make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I doubled the recipe and cooked in a huge pan so it wasn't too deep (didn't want it to take longer to cook). Served it at easter and came home with only a small serving. It took about 10 minutes longer to cook than the recipe stated. I thawed my frozen hash browns in the fridge, used cream of potato instead of cream of celery, no onions, used bread crumbs instead of corn flakes, and no butter. No one was raving about it, but everyone ate it. Could probably tinker a bit with what I did but don't have to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Wow! Talk about comfort food ;) I have made this many times now, and I can change the soup and completely change the flavor every time. I do use frozen hashbrowns- no need to thaw before you cook- and i add extra sour cream since I probably use more than required. I also add whatever cheese I have on hand, and it always is wonderful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
wow! this was an amazing recipe! i love au gratin potatoes and the last time i had them this amazing was at my wedding in april 08 and i have been craving them every since. i rate this recipe a 4 because it calls for WAY too much butter on top with the corn flakes. next time i will only use half a stick rather than a whole one and maybe add some more corn flakes for an added crunch. my husband moaned with every bite. he loved em!!! *side note: they are not good heated up....way too greasy.*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefbound

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, Oregon, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I made this last night for a get-together. I used Cream of Chicken soup and a little more sour cream. I was a little disappointed that the potatoes were not cooked through enough. I used a round and deep casserole dish so that could be the problem. Next time I will bake longer. I also added salt and pepper as it was too bland without it. And I crushed the corn flakes. I will keep this recipe and next time change it up using the different comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANORBOOKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I made this tonight as my first "Au Gratin" recipe and it turned out great! I used fat free soup, light sour cream, double the cheese, bread crumbs, and about 1/4 of the butter and it still had lots of flavor. My husband is a cheese lover and wants even more cheese the next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Waldrop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This recipe was surely different than the Au Gratin Potatoes were used to but they were delicious. It was a hit on Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chavez

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States