Au Gratin Potatoes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Lovely side dish that can easily be made with just a few things around the house. I did make a couple changes though to suit my needs, and it came out AMAZING! 1st- I scalloped the potatoes (russet) in my food processor. I prefer them this way. 2nd- I used 1 can cream of mushroom soup, as it's what I had on hand. 3rd- I added 1/4 c. of milk to moisten it up (it wasn't soupy at all in the end. I can't imagine if I hadn't added extra milk) 4th- I grated 1/4 white onion into the soup mix and only used 1 green onion 5th- I didn't have corn flakes, so I used potato chips in their place. I didn't add any butter because the chips were already greasy 6th- I added a little season salt to the mix before baking. Not sure this was necessary, and prob wouldn't do that again. We don't like a lot of salt. 7th- bake it in a 9x13 dish. It still wasn't super crispy or well done, but had nice golden bits around the sides. I also used Fat free sour cream, and you would never know the difference! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
We loved this dish. I made a few changes. I used cream of chicken instead of cream of celery, I could not find any at the store. I used frozen shredded hash browns potatoes. For the topping I used Panko Bread crumbs and shredded cheese instead of the corn flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reggie Tucker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, California, USA
Living In: Leesville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I'm so glad I found this recipe! It was delightful. It tasted like my childhood. :) I made it with a mix of carrots and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I doubled this recipe. I used 5-6 average size white potatoes.  I peeled, then sliced and halved and quartered the slices so they were not large, I used 1 can cream of celery soup & one can cream of chicken soup. All other ingredients were doubled. For the topping I used a Ruffles potato chips. I crushed them up fine and mixed them with the butter. I then sprinkled them on top and put the potatoes back in the oven under the broiler long enough to make the topping crispy brown. Maybe a minute or so. These potatoes were excellent and I will definitely make them again. Also, because everyone said theynwould take longer to cook, I put them in the microwave for 15-20 min before I put them in the oven to take the edge off of how long they would need to cook. I then cooked them in the oven for 40 min, finishing with the broiler to make the topping crispy. This recipe is very kid, teenager, anybody friendly :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Great recipe, I do not know how anyone could of messed this up. I cut up the potatoes instead of shredding them and followed the recipe to a tee however I did leave them in longer to cook as some others had suggested. Instead of the corn flakes I used the dried onions and soaked them in butter with garlic, salt and pepper. Then after 20 minutes back in the oven I put on the parsley and did 4 minutes on broil just to crisp up the top and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Very good I did add an extra can of cream of onion soup turned out awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
My family refused to eat these. The sour cream made this sour with little other flavor. I son threw them out - probably to save me the heartbreak of the waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
We tweaked this recipe a little. I don't like cream of celery and all I had on hand was Cheddar Cheese Soup so that is what we used. We substituted the green onions with dehydrated onions and the potatoes with frozen, thawed hash browns. Also, we added about a Tbsp of Worchestershire and about 1/2 tsp each of salt and pepper. Turned out delicious! This is a keeper for any meal, any day of the week and I'm thinking great for potlucks at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This is more of a hashbrown casserole vs. au gratin potatoes. I used frozen shredded potatoes, which I thawed before using. I also used cream of mushroom soup since that's all I had on hand and breadcrumbs instead of cornflakes (we don't ever eat cornflakes, and I didn't want to buy them just for the topping). These were pretty good, but tasted more like a casserole vs. potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I followed the recipe to a "T" and after over 2 hours of baking, the potatoes were still not done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Union, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States