Au Gratin Potatoes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
I've made it several times now and the family all love it -- it's so quick and easy! I've used less butter, used different flavors with soup (cream of broccoli or cream of mushroom), used more onion, experimented with cheeses and cheated and used frozen hashbrowns (much easier for me!). It's now permanently in the recipe box :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
This is very good! I have tried a lot of Augratin Potato recipes over the years and usually they are TOO rich, this isn't! I had printed it off at Christmas time thinking that I might make it then and then decided to try something else - should have made this one! I am a stickler for following a recipe to the letter, especially the first time around but I did put some chopped red pepper in this just because I like a little color and I happened to have some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
This took ALOT longer to cook than the recipe said. Maybe the temp is off. But when it was done cooking, it was wonderful. I used cream of mushroom soup and a small regular onion and it was great. Wonder what it would taste like with French fried onions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
my whole family like de recipe. it was very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
This was my first time making au gratin potatoes. After cooking the dish for an extra 25 minutes, it turned out great. I think the next time i cook this dish i will use a larger baking pan and decrease the butter amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
LOVED! this recipe. Didn't have celery soup so i used cream of chicken. A new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
This dish is FANTASTIC! I substituted cream of mushroom soup and used frozen hash browns. I also used half sour cream and half mayo because I was short on sour cream. I used a 9x13 dish and it was practically licked clean by my family! This is a definite keeper and a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
I absolutely love the flavour of this recipes - it's a wonderful cheesy potatoey flavour. However, the dish took a LOT longer to cook than the recipe said. I think next time I'll use a 9X13 pan instead of an 8X8 one. Fabulous though - absolutely loved it once it was finally done cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Chuppa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valleyview, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
This was okay, it was a lot of work shredding the potatoes and it took a lot longer than the recipe said to bake. I have another recipe that calls for frozen hashbrowns and Cream of Potato soup that we liked better, we will probably go back to that recipe. I also didn't care for the topping. Mine never really got crispy. Maybe I didn't have enough crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe. However, to save some time, use the frozen hash-brown potatoes instead (trust me, you won't be able to tell the difference). Also, for added flavor, use half can Cream of Celery and half cream of chicken. I have made it for several occasions and people have actually told me that they were craving them after they left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States