Au Gratin Potatoes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This was a great recipe. I use half the butter and white onions because thats what I had. I also would crush or even omit the cornflakes next time...they were a little chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Delicious! I cut down on the butter with the corn flakes and it still tasted great. I used the larger blade on my processor - made french fry size potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Mmmm! In a 9X13 pan, Used a full bag of Oreida's Potatoes O'Brien (have added onions and peppers) to save time, added in garlic powder and some basil. Used a four cheese blend (2 cup bag), and some additional Parmesan cheese (didn't measure, just tossed on). Per suggestions, used about 1/3 cup melted butter and about 2 cups of crushed cornflakes. Cook time was a bit longer, as other reviewers stated. I LOVED this, but the kids didn't - hence the four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
It was very good, my husband thought I was crazy putting corn flakes on top. I would add something to give it a little more zing, personal preference, but it was good just as is. Very easy to make, I sliced my potatoes, thinly, and it took the exact same amount of time. The cream of celery soup is needed, would be bland with cream of mushroom or similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
Wow this is so good. Great comfort food. I added ham to mine to make it a meal. I wasn't too sure about the cream of celery because I had never had it before...I grabbed it on accident at the grocery store. But this was the perfect recipe to try it with. Now I won't be afraid to use it again. This recipe is a definate keeper. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CariMel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
I was drawn to this recipe thanks to Emily's mouthwatering photo, and I was not disappointed. Hubby raved, and we both had 2 helpings! I followed Emily's suggestion of using white onion, and I added about 1 tsp minced fresh rosemary. I diced my potatoes instead of shredding, so I baked mine longer. I used sourdough bread crumbs on the top and only used 1/4 cup butter--it was plenty. Even though I love the Company Potatoes from this website, I like this recipe because it uses "real" potatoes, and that really enhances the flavor. This will be a repeater at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Really excellent. I followed the advice of one of the raters and added a clove of pressed garlic. I also added some celery salt to complement the cream of celery soup. Also since I used the (pre-cooked) Simply Potatoes (1 bag + about 1/4 bag), I could taste it to see how much more salt & pepper it needed. Cooked longer per other raters. People had seconds and third and ate 'til we couldn't have any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
I used to make this recipe for years for hunter who came to our place and it was always a hit. Only difference to my recipe is that I use cream of chicken soup, an ordinary onion and add 1 1/2 cups of cheese to the mix. I spread the butter-cornflakes mix on top and bake it uncovered in a 9x13 inch dish at 350° for 60 min, though. Some reviewers said their gratin would not be done or too greasy - by distributing the potatoes in a bigger dish they will be done for sure. Crush the cornflakes in smaller pieces with your hands and use 1 ½ to 2 cups crushed cornflakes, this way the butter gets absorbed and it makes a nice crust. Mexican fans may use tortilla chips (reduce butter, though). And, of course, hash brown potatoes from the freezing aisle will do too! ;-) Just prolong the cooking time by 10 minutes if you didn’t let them thaw before preparing. However - I think this is a recipe you can not go wrong with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caljane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Devils Tower, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emily
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Awesome! This is my favorite potato dish. I used white onions instead of the green onions. The cornflake topping is really good, too, although I've used crushed up potato chips in the past. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States