Au Gratin Potatoes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I took some significant liberties with this recipe, and the result was AWESOME! I used Simply Potatoes brand refrigerated potatoes... needed more than one bag, so buy 2. I also used gruyere cheese, as I'm not a big cheddar fan. Added about 1/4 extra cup of pecorino/romano, a clove of pressed garlic, and salt and pepper and onion powder. Topped with canned fried onions and bacon bits. Cooked in a big 9 x 13 pan, because we like the well done parts best. RAVES ALL AROUND!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coraopolis, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe. However, to save some time, use the frozen hash-brown potatoes instead (trust me, you won't be able to tell the difference). Also, for added flavor, use half can Cream of Celery and half cream of chicken. I have made it for several occasions and people have actually told me that they were craving them after they left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
I made this dish for my fiance and parents and they LOVED it, there were no leftovers! It's extremely easy to make, and tastes like you fussed. I used frozen, shredded hash brown potatoes instead of doing the shredding myself. I will be making this again soon. Just be sure you put it in a deep enough pan, so it doesn't bubble over. I learned that one the hard way!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Hamilton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2007
I used to make this recipe for years for hunter who came to our place and it was always a hit. Only difference to my recipe is that I use cream of chicken soup, an ordinary onion and add 1 1/2 cups of cheese to the mix. I spread the butter-cornflakes mix on top and bake it uncovered in a 9x13 inch dish at 350° for 60 min, though. Some reviewers said their gratin would not be done or too greasy - by distributing the potatoes in a bigger dish they will be done for sure. Crush the cornflakes in smaller pieces with your hands and use 1 ½ to 2 cups crushed cornflakes, this way the butter gets absorbed and it makes a nice crust. Mexican fans may use tortilla chips (reduce butter, though). And, of course, hash brown potatoes from the freezing aisle will do too! ;-) Just prolong the cooking time by 10 minutes if you didn’t let them thaw before preparing. However - I think this is a recipe you can not go wrong with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caljane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Devils Tower, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
This was tasty, but much too greasy. I would reduce the amount of butter used on the top and change the corn flakes to bread crumbs. Other than that it was yummy and reheated nicely for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
This recipe is outstanding! The only thing that I did differently was that I made it into scalloped potatoes! I sliced the potatoes rather than shredding them! My husband & I (and our puppies) loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
I've made it several times now and the family all love it -- it's so quick and easy! I've used less butter, used different flavors with soup (cream of broccoli or cream of mushroom), used more onion, experimented with cheeses and cheated and used frozen hashbrowns (much easier for me!). It's now permanently in the recipe box :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
This wasn't bad. I used cream of mushroom soup, added garlic. Also used fresh breadcrumbs and seasoned them instead of cornflakes. If using fresh potatoes need to increase cooking time to 1 1/2 hours. Good with beef or ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
This was a great recipe and easy to make. I needed to coook longer, going by instructions, the potatoes werent cooked enough. But once I cooked longer, the taste was GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
WOW, even my fussy 8 year old devoured this one. I substituted mushroom soup and oh my, yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States