Au Gratin Potatoes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
This took ALOT longer to cook than the recipe said. Maybe the temp is off. But when it was done cooking, it was wonderful. I used cream of mushroom soup and a small regular onion and it was great. Wonder what it would taste like with French fried onions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
my whole family like de recipe. it was very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
This was my first time making au gratin potatoes. After cooking the dish for an extra 25 minutes, it turned out great. I think the next time i cook this dish i will use a larger baking pan and decrease the butter amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
LOVED! this recipe. Didn't have celery soup so i used cream of chicken. A new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
This dish is FANTASTIC! I substituted cream of mushroom soup and used frozen hash browns. I also used half sour cream and half mayo because I was short on sour cream. I used a 9x13 dish and it was practically licked clean by my family! This is a definite keeper and a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
I absolutely love the flavour of this recipes - it's a wonderful cheesy potatoey flavour. However, the dish took a LOT longer to cook than the recipe said. I think next time I'll use a 9X13 pan instead of an 8X8 one. Fabulous though - absolutely loved it once it was finally done cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Dombroskie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valleyview, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
This was okay, it was a lot of work shredding the potatoes and it took a lot longer than the recipe said to bake. I have another recipe that calls for frozen hashbrowns and Cream of Potato soup that we liked better, we will probably go back to that recipe. I also didn't care for the topping. Mine never really got crispy. Maybe I didn't have enough crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe. However, to save some time, use the frozen hash-brown potatoes instead (trust me, you won't be able to tell the difference). Also, for added flavor, use half can Cream of Celery and half cream of chicken. I have made it for several occasions and people have actually told me that they were craving them after they left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
This wasn't bad. I used cream of mushroom soup, added garlic. Also used fresh breadcrumbs and seasoned them instead of cornflakes. If using fresh potatoes need to increase cooking time to 1 1/2 hours. Good with beef or ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
I made this dish for my fiance and parents and they LOVED it, there were no leftovers! It's extremely easy to make, and tastes like you fussed. I used frozen, shredded hash brown potatoes instead of doing the shredding myself. I will be making this again soon. Just be sure you put it in a deep enough pan, so it doesn't bubble over. I learned that one the hard way!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Hamilton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States