Au Gratin Potatoes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Really excellent. I followed the advice of one of the raters and added a clove of pressed garlic. I also added some celery salt to complement the cream of celery soup. Also since I used the (pre-cooked) Simply Potatoes (1 bag + about 1/4 bag), I could taste it to see how much more salt & pepper it needed. Cooked longer per other raters. People had seconds and third and ate 'til we couldn't have any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
I used to make this recipe for years for hunter who came to our place and it was always a hit. Only difference to my recipe is that I use cream of chicken soup, an ordinary onion and add 1 1/2 cups of cheese to the mix. I spread the butter-cornflakes mix on top and bake it uncovered in a 9x13 inch dish at 350° for 60 min, though. Some reviewers said their gratin would not be done or too greasy - by distributing the potatoes in a bigger dish they will be done for sure. Crush the cornflakes in smaller pieces with your hands and use 1 ½ to 2 cups crushed cornflakes, this way the butter gets absorbed and it makes a nice crust. Mexican fans may use tortilla chips (reduce butter, though). And, of course, hash brown potatoes from the freezing aisle will do too! ;-) Just prolong the cooking time by 10 minutes if you didn’t let them thaw before preparing. However - I think this is a recipe you can not go wrong with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caljane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Devils Tower, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emily
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Awesome! This is my favorite potato dish. I used white onions instead of the green onions. The cornflake topping is really good, too, although I've used crushed up potato chips in the past. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
I have made recipes from this site for years and always been happy. This recipe had no flavor, and I was really surprised that it was rated at 4 1/2 stars. I read all the reviews cooked it longer that the recipe called for and was glad I did because it was cooked. However, I will never make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
This recipe is great! I served it at a get together and it was the first thing gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Patuxent River, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Good flavour but very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
This was a great recipe and easy to make. I needed to coook longer, going by instructions, the potatoes werent cooked enough. But once I cooked longer, the taste was GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Tasty recipe, husband loved it. 1/2 cup butter is WAY too much for my taste; next time I'll use a few tablespoons with bread crumbs instead. We sliced the potatoes instead of shredding them and used sliced Vidalia onions instead of green. Nice variation, but takes much longer to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
This was really good. I also used shredded potatos and Durkee onions. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I took some significant liberties with this recipe, and the result was AWESOME! I used Simply Potatoes brand refrigerated potatoes... needed more than one bag, so buy 2. I also used gruyere cheese, as I'm not a big cheddar fan. Added about 1/4 extra cup of pecorino/romano, a clove of pressed garlic, and salt and pepper and onion powder. Topped with canned fried onions and bacon bits. Cooked in a big 9 x 13 pan, because we like the well done parts best. RAVES ALL AROUND!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coraopolis, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States