Au Gratin Potatoes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
This is my fiance's absolute FAVORITE recipe. It turns out perfect every time I make it and he brags to all his friends that he has a girl who can cook. There are NEVER left overs! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Very very good recipe. Try it with crushed potato chips on top--fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaLisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Urbana, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Pretty darn good! I used cream of mushroom (didn't have the celery) and added cooked bacon. It tasted like a loaded baked potato. A wonderful change from the normal potato side dish. The texture was a little thick - so next time ill thin it out - just a tad - with some milk. I also didn't use the corn flakes - i just didn't feel it needed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLIVNILLI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This was a great recipe. I use half the butter and white onions because thats what I had. I also would crush or even omit the cornflakes next time...they were a little chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Delicious! I cut down on the butter with the corn flakes and it still tasted great. I used the larger blade on my processor - made french fry size potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Mmmm! In a 9X13 pan, Used a full bag of Oreida's Potatoes O'Brien (have added onions and peppers) to save time, added in garlic powder and some basil. Used a four cheese blend (2 cup bag), and some additional Parmesan cheese (didn't measure, just tossed on). Per suggestions, used about 1/3 cup melted butter and about 2 cups of crushed cornflakes. Cook time was a bit longer, as other reviewers stated. I LOVED this, but the kids didn't - hence the four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
It was very good, my husband thought I was crazy putting corn flakes on top. I would add something to give it a little more zing, personal preference, but it was good just as is. Very easy to make, I sliced my potatoes, thinly, and it took the exact same amount of time. The cream of celery soup is needed, would be bland with cream of mushroom or similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
Wow this is so good. Great comfort food. I added ham to mine to make it a meal. I wasn't too sure about the cream of celery because I had never had it before...I grabbed it on accident at the grocery store. But this was the perfect recipe to try it with. Now I won't be afraid to use it again. This recipe is a definate keeper. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CariMel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
I was drawn to this recipe thanks to Emily's mouthwatering photo, and I was not disappointed. Hubby raved, and we both had 2 helpings! I followed Emily's suggestion of using white onion, and I added about 1 tsp minced fresh rosemary. I diced my potatoes instead of shredding, so I baked mine longer. I used sourdough bread crumbs on the top and only used 1/4 cup butter--it was plenty. Even though I love the Company Potatoes from this website, I like this recipe because it uses "real" potatoes, and that really enhances the flavor. This will be a repeater at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States