Atlantic Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2003
Great start for a soup recipe. If you want thicker soup, use less water and puree some of the potatos. If you want more flavor, use stock or broth instead of some of the water and saute the onion. If you want to add a veggie, try asparagus...it's good. Add salt and pepper to your own taste. If you ever want to add a little zip to a soup, try some wine (in the soup) or vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
This was super easy, but it tasted terrible. It was too thin not enough corn. It had no taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
My DOG loved it. I added a can of beer too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingForDummies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
Whom ever recipe this is, I think you should add a little more flavor to your chowder... It does not take that much longer to add a few more ingredients..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
This was very easy and good, but I agree with those who rated it too bland and thin. The bland part is easy to take care of, just be creative with the spices! (I added salt and fresh ground pepper, Old Bay, and some Emeril's "bam" mix which has paprika in it.) I'd make it again because it's so easy and way better and more homemade tasting than heating up a can of soup! Next time, however, I might drain some of the water off the potatoes so it's thicker...that might do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZYSPINELLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Huntington Station, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
This is absolutely wonderful. I have made this soup several times and vary it each time. I used leftover ham once and bacon another time and cheese a third time. My husband will eat anything I cook but he raved about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
I am from Atlantic Canada and this is the recipe my grandmother and mother and I all use and we love it. We also add a can of niblets corn a couple of diced carrots and what really makes the difference is about a tablespoon of butter on top!It's even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
I have to agree this was a bit bland, but really not too bad, warming on a cold day and very easy to make. In the end, I did add some thyme, sage and pepper. For those with the "too thin" problem -- I saw this coming so I only *barely* covered the potatoes to cook them, and I mean to the point that corners of cubes were peeping through, and then stirred them often while cooking. All the water was soaked up this way. As someone else already said, mashing them a bit is good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
This recipe was awesome! It was incredibly easy and I added salt, pepper and cheese and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This is missing some very important steps to be Altantic Corn Chowder. The creamed corn is right, and Evaporated milk, just need to add more of both, everyone is different so play with it but the biggest trick is, cover the diced potatoes in just enough salted water to cover them, cook untit done. Then stir in canned milk, creamed corn. (add extra if you like the more the better!) Then in the mircowave or pot cook the onion in the butter, then stir the melted butter and onions on top. S&P to taste. Funny how just changing the way it is done makes all the difference. I sometimes add a bayleaf or other seasonings, as well as carrot, peas etc to mix it up. if you like it thick, use a rue! But it is really the can milk, creamed corn, with the melted butter and onions that makes it soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States