Atlantic Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by EcoGirl
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Add flour to thicken. Add salt and pepper and the entire can of evaporated milk. It tastes just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I did like this soup, but I would change three things about it. 1. I would not add as much onion. The onion overpowered the rest of the flavor, so I'd use only half of what it says. 2. I had to add salt and pepper because it was a little bland. 3. I would have added more potatoes and corn because it seemed like there wasn't that much..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This is missing some very important steps to be Altantic Corn Chowder. The creamed corn is right, and Evaporated milk, just need to add more of both, everyone is different so play with it but the biggest trick is, cover the diced potatoes in just enough salted water to cover them, cook untit done. Then stir in canned milk, creamed corn. (add extra if you like the more the better!) Then in the mircowave or pot cook the onion in the butter, then stir the melted butter and onions on top. S&P to taste. Funny how just changing the way it is done makes all the difference. I sometimes add a bayleaf or other seasonings, as well as carrot, peas etc to mix it up. if you like it thick, use a rue! But it is really the can milk, creamed corn, with the melted butter and onions that makes it soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I give this 4 stars because it was a bit bland as written. I have made the following changes. If I add uncooked onions to the uncooked potatoes and boil, I drain and add fresh water when almost done. Otherwise the onion taste overwhelms the chowder. The onion should compliment the dish, not take it over. Or I sautee the onion and add when the potatoes are done. Mashing the potatoes a bit certainly helps, or you can add potato flakes to taste. Also I use ham flavoring in the water and Emeril's Essence. And I use heavy cream rather than evaporated milk. And, as many reviewers recommended, I like carrots in this as well. Finally, if you need to save time, use canned diced potatoes, and canned carrots which are easy to chop/dice. And, if I have it, I add diced ham. What I'm trying to say here is: This is a great base recipe. But you need to add spices and ingredients suitable to your taste, and then you will be rewarded with true comfort food on a cold day/night. Thanks to all reviewers who provided helpful hints. And many thanks to you, Ms Atherton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNESSEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
i actually liked it, despite the fact that i almost didn't make it because of the bad reviews. i started out sauteing the onions until they were tender, then added the potatoes and barely covered them with water. i added 3 chicken bouillon cubes and the flavor was amazing. i added the corn and milk, but it was too runny so i threw in a block of cream cheese on a whim and it thickened it up and made it super creamy and delicious. serve with some warm crusty bread and you're good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I've made this twice now, and both times it came out so bland. I tried to add spices, more corn, etc. It just didn't work out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Read reviews before you start. Wanting a quick lunch I started recipe without reading reviews, when I realized there was no seasoning I went to the reviews, then started the changing process. I drained most of the water off the potatoes and onions, I added salt & pepper, read another review and added Old Bay, read another review and added minced carrot (trying to ensure they got done) when potatoes were soft I used potato masher gently then added 2 cans creamed corn and evaporated milk. We like pepper so it got a healthly dose at the end. Great Soup for a cold day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This recipe was ok.. Needed to use heavy cream, saute the onions in tons of butter, and add salt and pepper, then it would have been tops!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wells, Maine, USA
Living In: Crossett, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Being from the maritmes (east coast of Canada) I grew up on a recipe LIKE this..tried to recreate as an adult using this recipe, one word: BLAH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summerside, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
Good base soup. I like to make it with halibut. Needs pepper also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States