Asparagus with Sliced Almonds and Parmesan Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I really liked this recipe! I think it needs to be said that you should use the pre-grated parmesan cheese in the classic green container. Otherwise, it will all melt and clump together if you use fresh. I followed the recipe and it came out beautifully! The only change I made was to sub 1/2 the butter with olive oil. I'm always tempted to add salt, and I did in this case, but it really wasn't needed because of the salt in the cheese. Also, don't be tempted to add garlic either. The flavors are wonderful as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Cooked this tonight and it was perfect! I used Almond Accents Italian Parmesan(found in salad sect. of supermarket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Delicious and easy. Not great leftover... but, we gobbled most of it up on the first night anyway! Will make over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
My guests loved this dish, and so did I. I couldn't find fresh Parmesan so i used regular Parmesan you'd sprinkle on pasta dishes. I'd eat it more often but it really messes up my urine :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
the best~!! the only way i like to eat asparagus.. we made it again today for hubby and i's nontradtion thanksgiving dinner.. love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of 3 boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havana, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Castle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Really fast and definitely easy! I followed others suggestions of boiling asparagus a couple of minutes before putting in a skillet and I shredded parmesan on after it had been plated. Also, I used pine nuts instead of almonds because I had them on hand. I love roasted asparagus and this was definitely a nice change. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This was a nice alternative way to prepare asparagus. I'm sure I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I have to say that I hate asparagus...but asparagus is so good for you that I wanted to give it another try. This recipe made asparagus very tolerable to me! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I toasted the almonds first, it adds a great flavour! I also blanched the asparagus before putting it in the pan with the Parm and Almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hunter's Mom 2008

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This was a wonderful dish! I made it twice, and it was definitely better to sprinkle the cheese on just before serving. It's just a little globby if you sprinkle the cheese while it is still in the pan. I transferred the cooked asparagus to a serving dish, sprinkled the cheese, tossed it and sprinkled a little more... Perfection! Even my picky 4 & 5 year olds liked it! Wow, that's really saying something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 51-60 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Fried Asparagus

A simple asparagus side dish with garlic, olive oil, and butter.

Parmesan Cheese Twists

These cheesy Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry strips are so easy to make!

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States