Asparagus with Sliced Almonds and Parmesan Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Didn't care for the cooking method, which is why I rate this four stars. Specifically, I know that adding and "cooking" the cheese with the asparagus in the pan would have resulted in a sticky, nasty pan to clean so while I used the ingredients as directed in the recipe, I just modified how I put it together. I simply steamed the asparagus, then dressed it up with the almonds (toasted at 350 degrees for 5 minutes) and shaved Parmigiano-Reggiano. Elegant and steps above plain, cooked asparagus - five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This was simple and yummy...I did what someone suggested and blanched the asparagus first, then just sauteed in butter, sea salt and pepper and at the very end, I added the parm and almonds (and garlic). Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
My first time having asaragus and it was wonderful. My 12 year old loved it as well. I added the parmasean cheese right after removing the asparagus from the pan and it worked out great. Thank you for sharing your receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twobtwot9809

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I love this recipe. This is how I always prepare asparagus now. Like the other reviewers, I put the cheese on at the last second so that the cheese isn't gluey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Good recipe! I took the suggestions of others and cooked the asparagus in some boiling water, and I took it out and immediately added it to the butter and almonds. I cooked it for a minute, put it on the serving dish, and then put the cheese on it. I had a person who "doesn't like asparagus" try it and rave about it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Really quite tasty. I used slivered almonds and cut the asparagus into 1 1/2 inch pieces, adding the bottom parts to the pan first (to cook a little longer as they are tougher). Added some garlic sea salt & pepper, and used parmesean-romano grated cheese after I plated the asparagus. Very good and QUICK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Simple and delicious. We didn't have any parm, but substituted some San Joaquin Gold. The almonds, cheese and butter combined into something spectacular and complimented the asparagus quite nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McCambridge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Great taste and super easy to make! I followed the advice listed below and dropped the fresh asparagus in boiling water until bright green and tender. Maybe 2 or 3 minutes altogether. Then put in ice water to stop the cooking process while heating up the saute pan with melted butter. Tossed briefly with a little bit of minced garlic and almonds. Added the parmesan right before serving. I think the parmesan would really glue up on you in the pan. Turned out beautifully with the Hudson baked Tilapia recipe I found here as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leighanncherry81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesboro, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Love what the parmesan and almonds do to this recipe. Everyone is already asking for it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Fried Asparagus

A simple asparagus side dish with garlic, olive oil, and butter.

Parmesan Cheese Twists

These cheesy Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry strips are so easy to make!

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States