Asparagus with Cranberries and Pine Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
We loved this! The only thing I did different, I steamed the asparagus first and then topped it with the toasted nuts and cranberries. It's beautiful on the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I was unsure what was meant by cooking the pine nuts until they looked translucent, they just kind of started to brown, but it tasted great anyway! This dish was a great new way to have asparagus and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I loved this recipe , however, the best compliment is that my husband and daughters that normally do not eat asparagus, love it. Made it last week and I am making again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Very good and pretty for holidays. Next time I will add cranberries and pine nuts more toward the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This was really really tasty. We absolutely loved it. We did manage to burn the pine nuts and cranberries, though, while waiting for the asparagus to cook. Next time we do this I think we'll steam the asparagus separately while simultaneously cooking the crans/nuts in oil in a separate pan and then add the asparagus to the pan to toss and finish up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
this dish looks so good. it seems the author missed a step here. i would fry the cranberries and nuts, remove them once translucent, then fry the asparagus in that same oil, then serve with the cranberries and pine nuts on top. this way the asparagus is flavored and the nuts won't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This was a wonderful combination of flavors. I used dried Michigan cherries instead of cranberries. I also took the advice of a couple of reviewers and I steamed the asparagus. Also, I found that 3 tablespoons of oil was waaay too much and ended up dumping out almost all of it. After that, my pinenuts browned up nicely. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Gregory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Delicious & very colorful dish--a big hit for Thanksgiving dinner. I followed another reviewer's suggestion: sautéed pine nuts & craisins, then added steamed asparagus right before serving. Wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Excellent dish! Easy, fast and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Followed the advice of others and sauteed the pine nuts and cranberries first, so they wouldn't get overdone...but even after adding to the asparagus the dish was kinda bland and definitely needed more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States