Asparagus with Cranberries and Pine Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
The pine nuts and craisins add a great flavor to the asparagus. As other reviewers have noted, the pine nuts brown and burn very easily. (I had to throw the first batch out and start over because the pine nuts were charred black after sautéing the asparagus.) sauté the cranberries and pine nuts for 3-4 minutes first, remove from pan with slotted spoon, then sauté asparagus, adding the cranberries and pine nuts back to the pan for the last 1-2 minutes of cooking. When made correctly, the dish is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mainemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
My 13 year old son made this. He objected first, when I asked him to follow this recipe. He wanted to just cook plain asparagus. When he served this, it was beautiful and delicious! Simple, easy, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I really really enjoyed this recipe! I pretty much did all the steps in reverse by first cooking the asparagus in olive oil and then adding the pine nuts (which came pre packaged as 'toasted') and then the cranberries. I served it over penne pasta to make it a main dish, and might try white rice next time. After everything was plated, I sprinkled some goat cheese on top. I'll def try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Really delicious, but pine nuts are expensive!! Definitely steam asparagus first then toss with nuts/cranberries and oil. Top with feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Used almonds because I didn't have pine nuts on hand. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollyelm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I took the advice of other reviewers and steamed the asparagus first then cut it into pieces. I used about 1/4 cup nuts to cut down on calories and cooked them with raisins (what I had on hand) before adding the steamed asparagus. I used 1 TB olive oil. It was perfect. The combination of flavors was a great surprise. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This is a delicious way to eat asparagus. I removed the pine nuts and cranberries from the pan when the pine nuts turned brown and then added the asparagus. (I don't have much experience with pine nuts, but they never looked translucent to me. Maybe I should have cooked them longer, but I was afraid they'd burn.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was good. I found the cranberries sticky, more sticky than normal, but it was a nice change. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I steamed the asparagus beforehand and once the pine nuts and cranberries were done (be careful - pine nuts cook really fast on a gas range!) I removed them from the oil and used the same oil for the asparagus. I topped the asparagus with the mixture once it was plated and added a bit of feta. The flavor was good, I am going to try fresh cranberries next time so they will be a little less chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleenicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This is easy, delicious, and beautiful on the plate. I definately suggest to saute the pine nuts and cranberries together, remove and then saute the asparagus so the nuts aren't burned. Combine them at the end and top with feta. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States