Asparagus with Cranberries and Pine Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Recipe has potential bu the pine nuts scorched. I will try again and add more salt, perhaps garlic salt and top with pine nuts when serving .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I didn't notice the pine nuts ever going translucent, I think I burnt them. But my boyfriend and I still loved the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
The whole family loved this!!! Didnt have any pine nuts so subbed walnuts instead .... excellent. I also sauteed the cranberries & nuts separately, removed them then added the asparagus to the pan, no burning at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Absolutely fantastic recipe! I used almonds instead of the pine nuts, simply because the pine nuts were rather expensive, and I found that almonds could be used as a suitable substitute for them, and it turned out great. I've made this recipe twice so far, and it's definitely staying in my side dish rotation for a very long time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
My go to recipe whenever I have company over. I use walnuts over pine nuts but thats only personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
VERY good, but getting the nuts and craisins to cook "just right" is a trick. I had to make 15 servings, so I cooked the asparagus in several different batches, while keeping the cooked ones warm in the oven. Then I did the cranberries and nuts in the last pan. I would say 4 minutes tops!! At 6 minutes, the craisins basically turned into candy pieces. I poured the nut mixture over the asparagus and sprinkled with feta cheese - HUGE hit with no left-overs. (I used 1/2 c pine nuts, 1/2 c slivered almonds, 1 c craisins for 15 servings)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This dish was delicious!! I did tweak it a little bit to fit the ingredients I had at hand. Instead of tree nuts I used pecans. I did find that the dried cranberries became a little too hard fory liking after I cooked them. I followed others' advice and removed the nuts and cranberries after 2 mins and added the at the end when the asparagus was ready. But over all it was a great recipe!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieT.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Really Good! Simple too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Either way I really like this dish, but I actually like it better without the cranberries. The pine nuts are a must though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This is absolutely FANTASTIC!!! What an amazing and delicious change for one of our favorite veggies. I changed just a tiny bit, I added a few slivered almonds in with the pine nuts and cranberries and I sauteed the asparagus in the skillet for a couple of minutes then transferred to the microwave and steamed the stalks for a couple of minutes. It incorporated the wonderful blend of flavors in the skillet with the tenderness and flavor of steaming. After topping with the cranberry/pine nuts/almond mixture I crumbled feta cheese. Elegant in appearance and completely delectable! This is one recipe I'll make again and again and again! MMMMMMMMMMMMMM GOOOOOODDDDD!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States