Asparagus and Water Chestnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I used fresh asparagus and added sliced red pepper. It was simple, good and an easy way to add a little new life to my favorite vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tera
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
LOVED! Served with (a slightly adapted) Balsamic-Glazed Salmon Fillets (ISYBEL). Great compliments, great dinner. So glad frozen asparagus worked well, as I often have it in the freezer. As some reviewers have mentioned, the quality of the balsamic probably comes into play pretty greatly. In case it's of any help, we love (and used) Monari Federzoni Balsamic Vinegar of Modena - Aged (available in most grocery stores). Thank you for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I enjoyed this dish using fresh asparagus. Be sure to wash the chestnuts in a bowl of water, until the water runs clear then place the strained chestnuts into an kitchen towel a few moments to get most of the moisture off them. While I was growing up one of my friends was native to Mainland Hawaii. From my cooking lesson I also found out that most Hawaiian's harvest their own nuts as they grow prolifically on the island. I find this gives the chestnuts a clean taste..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This was easy and different. The frozen asparagus was pretty crunchy, I may try it with fresh asparagus when in season. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I didn't have any water chestnuts, but it was still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I needed salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I followed the directions exactly, but mine came out mushy within minutes of heating it. The only difference was that I used my own frozen asparagus, rather than store-bought. That may have made the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Made this tonight using fresh asparagus. I cooked it twice as long and forgot to put in the butter it was still delish. I'll be using this recipe as a side dish standby. Thanks for the totally different side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This recipe was different. It didn't taste bad but I prefer my asparagus plain. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This recipe was different. I left out the water chestnuts because I don't like them. But it was pretty good. Also, it was quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timolyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Asparagus

See tips for steaming or roasting spears of fresh asparagus.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States