Asparagus and Mushroom Puff Pastry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
A little high in fat and calories but the taste is worth it!!! My daughter even ate it without complaint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This recipe is truly delicious and a hit at the potluck I brought it to! It was fairly expensive to make though as asparagus is about $5/bunch where I live right now. I have a few suggestions to add to the recipe. 1. Oil baking pan well before putting puff pastry in. 2. Cut venting holes or slits in the top layer of puff pastry 3. Ten minutes was too long to cook the asparagus. I sliced my mushrooms to around 1/4" thick. Next time I make this I will fry the asparagus and mushrooms in butter together no more than 5 - 7 minutes. They have further cooking time in the oven and soggy asparagus is kind of gross. 4. Go ahead and use all of the prepared Hollandaise sauce (just shy of 2 cups). 5. Brush the top layer of puff pastry with a beaten egg before baking to give a nice glazed appearance to the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
266 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
I made this today, and it was truly delicious ,although as mentioned high on the carbs. I did take in the last reviews points of "pamming" my dish before applying the puff pastry. I didn't go the extra mile in getting fresh asparagus, I used a can of asparagus tips, not cooking them, but layering them first on top of the pie shell and then pouring the mushroom, garlic hollaindaise sauce. I also made "vents" for the top layer of pastry and instead of egg wash, I washed the pastry with milk to give it a nice golden colour when baked. My husband enjoyed this dish very much. Thank you for sharing !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This is truly great. I followed tips used pam in pan and sprayed top of vented crust to brown. I used 1 bunch of asparagus, mushrooms and a red pepper; actually any combo would work nicely and also used the entire package of sauce. This is a meal in itself for Lent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
Nice recipe. I actually hate mushrooms so I have no idea if this tasted good, but I made it for a bake sale and everyone loved it. Just some small changes. I used less butter and less garlic, no hollandaise, and just sauteed the veggies in the garlic butter, before dropping it in the puff pastry. I intended to add feta as well, but forgot! Anyway, everyone enjoyed it and it was perfect for a bake sale, especially in an office where savory always sells easier than sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
Yummy! And very elegant! As suggested, I used the whole pkg of hollandaise. I also used the full amount of asparagus. A few tips: 1)Use an egg slicer to slice the mushrooms. They slice easily and are uniform that way. And 2)My puff pastry sheets were square, not long enough to cover my pan, so for the top layer, I cut into 9 strips and layed them criss-cross in a lattice design on top. It turned out great, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Tastes good. My husband complemented on the dish. Making the dish took longer than I thought it would (the recipe times). Took other peoples advice and greased the pan, used all of the prepared hollandaise sauce (1 1/4 cup), and brushed the top with the egg yolk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri808

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
super delicious! i used the Blender Hollandaise Sauce recipe here on allrecipes.com, really easy and fast. i would add a tsp. salt to this recipe and i also brushed the pan with butter and the top layer of puff pasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
This was really delicious and looked so impressive with the puffed brown pastry top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This was totally yummy & really simple, I loved it! And I love you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Asparagus Pie

See how to make an elegant, crustless asparagus pie.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States