Asparagus and Mushroom Puff Pastry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Mine turned out very greasy. Would not make again. Suggest reducing butter if you try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I added an onion, delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Served in phyllo baskets but would be good served over vol-au-vent pastry. Made hollandaise from scratch -- delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARHYSMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I hurried to make this dish for a potluck, but I made it exactly as written. It was only 10 minutes out of the oven before people were trying it, and I got great compliments. The hollandaise I used was not from a package, but from a 4-star recipe on this site, so this was two recipes in one. A couple of notes, though: the cooked vegetable mixture, before adding the hollandaise, had quite a bit of liquid at the bottom. The recipe didn't say to do so, but I tried to drain it all. Even after mixing in the hollandaise and putting it between the pastry crusts, liquid seeped out. So my results were not picture-perfect, since I was hurrying and didn't pinch-seal the edges well enough. The other thing I should mention is that I had a lot more filling than I thought could fit inside the crust. Unless I was being too conservative, I only managed to put maybe 2/3rds of the filling inside until I thought it was maxed-out. I rarely buy asparagus, but maybe my "2 bunches" of asparagus, even after trimming, were a lot larger than average? Still, the leftover veggies in hollandaise should be really tasty when reheated tomorrow. Overall, despite my results being a bit of a structural mess, they looked nice and better yet tasted wonderful, and earned me praise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Awesome!!! using the two sheets of puffed pastry I made two different pockets - One with ham and one without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This was absolutely delicious. I am a vegetarian and wanted to make something hearty to eat for Thanksgiving dinner, since my cousin is also vegetarian. We both loved it, and nearly ate the whole thing ourselves. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Excellent vegetarian meal, puff pastry did stick to bottom.Had to stretch bottom puff pastry to fit 13x9 pan, Next time will use 11x7 pan and salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Mannington, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Outstanding! Made this for Mother's Day and it was a huge hit. Followed the directions exactly and used the blender hollandaise on this site. It was great like it was but next time I will probably cook the asparagus less before putting in the shell. I may experiment with making individual ones. Overall, this recipe as is, is a 5. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Wow, I will have to make this, but use my asparagus casserole recipe aka a twist on green bean casserole. Don't use the fried onions but fresh grated parmesan cheese instead, cream of mushroom soup. I will cut into triangles like another poster did for appetizers or single servings. I think I will make it this weekend with that Sirlon Steak Diane recipe and salad. Sorry 4 star for right now, as I don't know if this will work yet. I'm not a hollandaise sauce fan but will make some of each to test out on the hubby. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Schanhals

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This dish was very good. Really flavorful. I'll be careful not to overcook the asparagus next time. Other than that, it'll be a regular menu item in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Asparagus Pie

See how to make an elegant, crustless asparagus pie.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States