Asparagus and Mushroom Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
Very good veggie dish. Like the other reviewer, I also reduced the cooking time for the asparagus to 5-7 minutes. Reduced calories/fats/etc. by using less olive oil to cook the asparagus; egg substitute and low-fat mozzarella cheese. Kept the real/fresh Parmesan cheese so the dish still had lots of flavor. Because I don't have an oven-safe skillet, I poured the mixture into an oven-safe baking dish to pop under the broiler and to serve from directly. Will KEEP this recipe in my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
Yummy, even for a light dinner. I shortened my cooking time on the asparagus, otherwise mine would have been overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
This recipe had a WONDERFUL taste. All of our family gobbled it up - even the 2 and 1 year old! I did make quite a few "tweaking"-like changes though. To the ingredients I added 1 tsp. hot sauce, 1/2 tsp. salt and 3 Tbsp crumbled bacon (I think these were suggested in an earlier review). In the instructions under #2 I changed the cooking time for the asparagus to 6 minutes - 10 would have been WAY too long and the mushrooms only needed to be cooked 3 minutes. Under #3 I only had to cook the egg mixture for 2-3 minutes. Under #4 I baked the 10 minutes but it was very brown and close to burnt - I would adapt this to 7-10 minutes and watch it closely. The cheese needs to be broiled about 1-2 minutes. This is going in the KEEPER file!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
This was excellent! Cooked the asparagus only 5 minutes as suggested, then added the mushrooms. Used 8 egg whites and 2 whole eggs to lighten up the calories and cholesterol. Couldn't tell the difference! This has so many possibilities. Needed some pepper and salt, but you can add that on your own. Served it with a baked potato and salad for a no fuss dinner. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I don't usually change recipes the first time I make them - but for this, I diced half an onion and sauteed it prior to the asparagus & mushrooms. In addition, I had some old bread (a nice Grace Baking loaf) and chopped that up and added it to the egg mixture - along with some lowfat milk and non-fat cottage cheese - to create a savory bread pudding of sorts. Oh and I didn't have parmesan or mozzarella so used some white cheddar. Turned out quite well - husband ate more than half & had some for leftovers the next day. Served with a small green salad and some prosecco - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okemos, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
when I first said to my husband we were having frittata for dinner - he gave me the "oh gah we're having some sort of foo-foo girly food" look. but when I served it to him, he said it was delicious. I made it in a cast iron skillet and the only thing I did differently was add some chopped up green onions in right before I dumped the egg mixture in the pan. (needed to use them up) Great easy recipe that you can adjust however you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
This was so good and so easy. I've made it 3 times and we actually like it better without the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
A really good vegetarian main meal; even my irritable meat-eating family thought it was substantial enough. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Wonderful recipe. I added red onion,since I had one already chopped, used less oil/butter . Also after cooking vegtables in skillet,I put them into a greased(PAM)glass baking dish, and poured beaten eggs(8) over veggies. Baking time was increased by about 5-8 minutes due to my changes. Will save this recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneeFS
Living In: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
Great flavor. We prefer to boil the asparagus to make it softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

How to Make Asparagus Pie

See how to make an elegant, crustless asparagus pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States