Asparagus and Mushroom Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
There were good. I made them with egg substitute and low fat cheese. I knew my family wouldn't eat them, so I baked them in muffin tins. I froze them 2 per ziplock bag. I grab them out when I want a snack or breakfast amd warm them in the microwave wrapped in a paper towel. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Berg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Love this recipe! Not only is it easy it's delicious too! This recipe does not give a pan size. I doubled the recipe for my 12 inch pan I knew it would be too dry if I didn't. It came out perfect. I used egg beaters and part skim mozzarella. I also reduced the amount of olive oil that was calculated for 12 eggs. I'm going to try making ahead and freezing for breakfast during the week! Try this one you won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
The thyme gives this a great flavor (I also used two cloves of garlic with the veggies, as well as olive oil instead of butter). My only issue was that the pan I used was too big, so even by adding a seventh egg it seemed a bit thin. I may have also used a bit too much asparagus and not cut it short enough. I'd use a smaller pan and just a smidge less asparagus next time. Nice, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Poulsbo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Fine recipe. I used tarragon rather than thyme, and eggplant and a green pepper since that's what I had from my farm subscription. I also mixed the cheese in with the eggs, rather than putting it on top, and used sharp cheddar. I also put two cloves of garlic in with the vegetable mixture. Resisted the temptation to put in some cayenne, but now wish I hadn't. Fine for most, but I like a lot of flavor, so I find it a tad bit bland. But I can sure taste the asparagus, which of course I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Oh how we loved this dish! I made a few changes, but I am certain it would have still been great as written. :) I added chopped up turkey hot dogs to the asparagus mixture (for more protein), and then added two large cups of packed fresh spinach to the mushrooms, until just wilted. Only used 5 eggs, and it was plenty for 4 people (although we had french toast on the side). I baked longer than suggested.. I would guess about 30 minutes total, but I did add sliced tomatoes to the top for color and flavor (it is summer, after all, and tomatoes are bursting with flavor now), which may have caused me to have to bake longer to evaporate the juices that the tomatoes exerted. I used swiss and cheddar, and a little bit of parmesan - wow.. it was a very tasty and filling dish! I think I may add some fresh garlic next time, as it would go well with the spinach. A great base recipe to add/reduce what you like. Oh and one more thing. I used a springform pan (wrapped tightly with foil along the sides so no leaks), and it was a beautiful presentation once placed onto a serving dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Made this for the Saturday morning Mother's Day weekend. Very good, though next time I might add a bit of pepper to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This recipe was pretty good. I took hint from other reviewers and crumbled some bacon over the top before adding the cheese. It needed something more than just thyme though. Next time I will saute a little garlic with the asparagus and mushrooms and add a dash of cumin to give it a savory flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nerdmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This was really good. However, you need to season it very well with salt and pepper, otherwise it's a little bland. I used dried time and fresh parsley, plus an aged artisan cheese that I had on hand instead of mozz/parm. I just sauteed the asparagus and mushrooms together until they were tender - much less than 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Very good frittata recipe. We are watching the calories, so I subbed in Egg Beaters for the eggs and used a little less cheese and butter. Still very tasty. I will use this again and perhaps try different veggies for variety. Very easy Sunday breakfast or quick weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nona

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Ordinary...I wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Spring Vegetable Frittata

Enjoy this quick and easy vegetable frittata.

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States