Asparagus Wrapped in Crisp Prosciutto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
A few reminders--the prosciutto must be paper thin (have your Italian deli slice the (Parma brand) prosciutto rather than buying pre-sliced) and do not over cook the asparagus! The only issue with these appetizers are that they must be eaten immediately. If they sit out for more than 10 minutes they get mushy and soggy. Martha Stewart has the best twist for them. Blanch asparagus first and then roll asparagus, prosciutto, and parm in filo dough then bake them. The filo dough gets crunchy, they last longer and they melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This was so tasty! Even the non-asparagus lovers at our party loved this. Wrapping the spears with the thin meat took a bit of practice, but even the ones that didn't look good still tasted great. I used half a slice of prosciutto per spear and baked 7 minutes per side. Next time, I'd skip the oil. The prosciutto creats plenty of grease as it cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohsherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Wonderful stuff. I tried this with the prosciutto and some thin sliced bacon and definitely preferred the prosciutto. The bacon did not get crisp enough by the time the asparagus was cocoked. It cooks fast. This was great and I will make it again for sure. Thanks for sharing Thaider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Photo by Kitters82
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
awesome!..with/without cream cheese tried both!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitters82

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Germany, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
These are so easy and yummy! I also drizzled with balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pres. of household

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I served these at a cocktail party with my Italian friends and everyone loved them. It was the easiest thing I made that night and by far the fav. I sprinkled some fresh lemon zest over them before broiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I had these at a very expensive restaurant in Calgary and have been dreaming of these ever since. These are absolutely fabulous! I rated a **** because I did these on a lightly oiled barbeque instead of in the oven. I turned them as the prosciutto got carmelized and crisp. If you parboil the asparagus it will be overcooked!! To cut the salt a bit and add extra flavor, throw a half a lemon on the grill to char a bit. Squeeze it over the spears before you serve it (that's how they did it in the restaurant) and you won't be disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DENA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Okotoks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
VERY GOOD! Instead of only wrapping one spear, I wrapped 3 to 4 and after the first five minutes of cooking I add the five italian cheese mix found in the shredded cheese section then cook it for the rest of the time! It is PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I don't really like prosciutto but I wanted to try a recipe that might change my mind. This recipe really didn't but I am sure for those of you who like Prosciutto then you will like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Having just experienced the exquisite dates-plus-prosciutto combo, I thought anything plus prosciutto would be excellent. Unfortunately, asparagus is better left alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Asparagus, Prosciutto and Fontina Tart

See how to make an easy but elegant savory appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States