Asparagus Wrapped in Crisp Prosciutto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
The recipe is OK, needs some tweaking... I had a different recipe and looked this one one up mainly to retrieve info on cooking time. The main thing is to prep the asparagus right -- wrap them in 1-2 slices of prosciutto (we used 2 for each pair of asparagi but one can wrap 3, 4 or 5 at the time depending on how much prosciutto you got). No oil in the pan, and no rolling mid way through. Just place the asparagus wraps on parchment paper, dot each bundle with a small amount of low-fat butter atop, then sprinkle grated Parmigiano cheese along the length of the bunch, then sprinkle further with paprika. Bake at 450 (but 425-430 is OK too) for 10 min without moving the asparagus prosciutto bundles and serve as is. Had it as a side dish to a NY strip steak -- excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iannacca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Did them without the cheese/sauce - would be great with it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I followed the advise of someone else and applied a light coating of olive oil with my fingers to each asparagus stalk before wrapping with half a slice of prosciutto. Too much prosciutto makes this too salty. The oo makes the prosciutto stick. Bake in 375 for 20 minutes shaking once to rotate midway through cooking. This was great!! Garner with a little shaving of parmesan but not too much because of saltiness. thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Made these for a neighborhood party and they were a hit! Making them for the 2nd time, and can't wait to eat them! So tasty! I did steam them for a short time before throwing them in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Absolutly delish! A perfect holiday appetizer. I didn't change a thing and this was a huge hit at our holiday open house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I've made this recipe quite a few times, but I spread the prosciutto with a flavored goat cheese first and drizzle on truffle oil after baking. Many, many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Excellent! I used 1/2 piece of proscuitto per spear, and they were perfect. Put a little cracked pepper on them before baking. They were a hit at our Christmas brunch, I will be making these for a baby shower next month! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This was good but not as good as "Prosciutto Wrapped Asparagus."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
WOW EXCELLENT!!! wILL MAKE AGAIN FOR SURE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I made this for a small gathering the other night and most of my guests really loved them! Normally I really enjoy prosciutto but there was something about this combo that made it seem so extra salty. I felt like the asparagus was a little overpowered and it made the dish a little one dimensional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courteepoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Asparagus, Prosciutto and Fontina Tart

See how to make an easy but elegant savory appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States