Asparagus Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I loved this soup, I made it with leeks instead of onion and added about 1/2 cup of Greek yogurt instead of milk. So yummy and about 1 ppv per cup for Weight Watchers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Fading asparagus in the refrigerator....what to do? Find the perfect recipe on allrecipes.com! This recipe deserves much more than five stars. It's easy, fast, microwave-oriented and tastes great. The only alteration I made was to replace the white pepper with allspice...a matter of personal taste. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANCOX

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I made this soup to take to a sick friend who on top of everything else has been having problems with her teeth. It had, of course, that subtle, delicious asparagus taste but was also creamy and smooth. I used a couple of extra seasonings, including red pepper. I also used cream instead of milk and my own chicken stock for the vegetable broth. Salt? Yes, I used a bit of sea salt. Lastly, I did NOT use a microwave oven to cook the onions and asparagus but rather used a saucepan and the stove top. The half-cup of soup I had was wonderful and I will make this soup again for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Very good! I used some suggestions posted by other reviewers: cooked on stove instead of microwave, substituted minced garlic for garlic powder, sautéed the onions and garlic powder in the butter before adding the asparagus and 2 (instead of 1) cups of vegetable broth. I cooked it a little big longer at this point so it cooked down a bit. Used 2% milk and black pepper. Also added a bit of dill and fresh lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Would like to make this a 4.5. I have made one other asparagus soup and it was nasty, and not smooth at all. I have so much asparagus from the garden I decided to try it again. I did use chicken stock and instead of milk I used evaporated milk. I cut up the aspargus very small (About 1 cup) and brought it to a boil on the stove stop with the onion, butter, broth, and salt and a dash of garlic powder. I put in in my blender and returned to the stove and added the evaporated milk. It is very very good. I may try it the next time with some of the spices the others recommended. Definitely would have been to thin if I used milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I love this asparagus soup. I used chicken broth and added a little cheese. My husband and I like a lot of spiciness so I added hot red pepper flakes too. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I love this recipe and have made it several times now. It's such a great base - you can add additional vegetables and spices as you like, plus other ingredient to increase or decrease the consistency. This will be a staple I keep around for a long time. And so EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erykakay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Easiest ever. Great tasting. Used chicken broth instead of vegetable, and skim milk instead of 1% (that is what we have on hand). I ilke fresh garlic so I added a clove of minced garlic and a dash of salt instead of garlic poweder. Wonderful, easy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Great, easy soup... but really just throw it on the stove why microwave? I made it a lower calorie version by using no butter and changing the milk to almond breeze unsweetend and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This was delicious, super easy, light, and tasted like spring in a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States