Asparagus Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Weight Watchers approved:) I sauteed my butter and onions in a pan for abotu 5 min, added about 2 tsp minced garlic. Diced up my asparagus, let that cook for another 5 min, then added 1 cup of chicken broth. I bet it took 10-15 min before it was soft enough to put through the processor. After it was smooth, I returned it to the pan and used just 1/2 cup of skim milk. I was very pleasantly surprised by this recipe. Also, less then one point per cup on WW when using my mods!! Repeat recipe here
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Yum! This soup changed my opinion of asparagus! I realized that it's not the flavor of asparagus that I don't like, its the unappetizing way its always been presented to me. The soup is a wonderful base recipe and we plan to put in regular rotation during asparagus season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edensmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I bought some asparagus, then had to leave town on a family emergency for a week. I blanched and froze it and hoped for the best! Upon returning home and defrosting it, I found it too limp to grill, or whatever. Sooo....I tried this soup. Didn't use the mircrowave. I sauteed onions and a couple cloves of garlic in a pot, chopped the asparagus and added that, then the broth. Brought it to a boil, then ran it through the blender, added back to the pot to add the milk, pepper and some other seasoning. It's fantastic! So glad my asparagus didn't go to waste :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenbrae, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Add a dollop of goat cheese to the soup after spooning into bowl. Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Wow, this soup is yummy! I didn't do this in the microwave - sauteed the onions a little longer to carmelise them a little (while prepping the asparagus), and used one vegetable soup cube in a little over 1 cup water, and only had skim milk on hand...but it still turned out to be delicious! Thick, smooth, and lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Delicious. Super easy, great taste, and healthy! I used fat-free evaporated milk and chicken broth. Did not have white pepper but dark pepper worked just fine. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikaak

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I followed the recipe mostly as posted, but I made it on the stovetop instead of in the micro. The main difference in my version is that I roasted the asparagus first (EVOO, S&P) to enhance the flavor. In the end, the finished product needed salt. Otherwise, for a very easy recipe, it was a good soup. Not spectacular, but definitely worth repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I get so tickled at reading the reviews and this recipe is a classic example. If this entire batch of soup is too high in fat and sodium than I must be a terribly unhealthy cook. Since when is 1 cup of 1% milk and a dash of garlic salt entirely too fattening/sodium for 4 servings of soup? That is just funny to me. I made this soup tonight with some asparagus I had bought at the store that was going bad and a few sprigs from my pathetic garden and I DID use chicken broth (not by any means a vegetarian) and because I like things a little spicy I added some spices that gave it some heat (personal prerference is all). I had something else lined out for dinner (hubby hates asparagus) but I did taste this as I was putting it in my to-go container for tomorrows lunch and it was so good that I made the hubby taste a little spoonful and his reply was, "I hate aspargus and I'm not a big fan of soup but this isn't all too bad". This is a very simple,easy, and extremely fast base to work with if you like asparagus. Get creative and add things you like. And please, don't go giving it a bad review because you don't like asparagus. HELLO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This is OK. I used quite a bit of white pepper and garlic but it was still missing something. I think I just prefer my asparagus soup creamier. We topped this with sour cream and that added the most to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This recipe is so easy and so versatile. I love to play around with it by adding different things such as red bell pepper sauteed over the stove with the onion and parmesan cheese pureed in. I think it needs more than a dash of garlic, and fresh garlic makes it wonderful. Will definately use this recipe again, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States