Asparagus Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Would like to make this a 4.5. I have made one other asparagus soup and it was nasty, and not smooth at all. I have so much asparagus from the garden I decided to try it again. I did use chicken stock and instead of milk I used evaporated milk. I cut up the aspargus very small (About 1 cup) and brought it to a boil on the stove stop with the onion, butter, broth, and salt and a dash of garlic powder. I put in in my blender and returned to the stove and added the evaporated milk. It is very very good. I may try it the next time with some of the spices the others recommended. Definitely would have been to thin if I used milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I love this asparagus soup. I used chicken broth and added a little cheese. My husband and I like a lot of spiciness so I added hot red pepper flakes too. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I love this recipe and have made it several times now. It's such a great base - you can add additional vegetables and spices as you like, plus other ingredient to increase or decrease the consistency. This will be a staple I keep around for a long time. And so EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eryka Anson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Easiest ever. Great tasting. Used chicken broth instead of vegetable, and skim milk instead of 1% (that is what we have on hand). I ilke fresh garlic so I added a clove of minced garlic and a dash of salt instead of garlic poweder. Wonderful, easy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Great, easy soup... but really just throw it on the stove why microwave? I made it a lower calorie version by using no butter and changing the milk to almond breeze unsweetend and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This was delicious, super easy, light, and tasted like spring in a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
so easy. I made it on the stove for more control. since I grow my asparagus, had to guess on weight. I added chicken broth and a chopped potato for thickening as someone suggested. My imersion blender made it so easy, (treat yorself to one if you don't already own one). I aded a couple teaspoons of cream also. It's what I had on hand. So quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
We really liked this recipe. Very simple to make,however, tasty and no cream!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Curtis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fergus, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I have made this soup a couple times, except I cook it over stovetop. I made it last night for a starter dish for our Thanksgiving dinner. I tripled all the ingredients to make enough for my family and the end result was still tasty. It is not an especially creamy soup, but it is definitely velvety. My not-so-familiar with American cooking family really enjoyed it and asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Okay, so I love the "idea" of this soup, but the final product needed some real work. I like my tweaked version, but the version created by this recipe left a lot to be desired. 1st, it's really bland unless you're using a high-sodium broth. If you're using a low-sodium broth you'll need to add some pep (I added more pepper, more garlic and a dash of smoked chipotle) 2nd, even if you DO use a salty broth, chances are something will be "missing" - that something is acid. Toss a splash of lemon juice in there and taste the difference! 3rd, it really is too much milk... 1/2 the amount would be better. On the major plus side, I love how this recipe doesn't heat up your kitchen! My teenaged son loved it (after adding copious amounts of srirracha) - I served it with toasted baguette!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States